We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very good hotel. We were allocated a room near some noisy air handling units, when we asked to be moved we were accommodated immediately and were moved to the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in, you could of had a tennis match in it.
The food was great and the staff were very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crunchie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for your review. We value our guests feedback very highly as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

Thank for bring to our attention the noisy air handling units, which we have looked into and fixed. We were only too delighted to accommodate you to a more spacious bedroom, as a way of making up for the hassle of moving. Our guests are our number 1 priority and we do anything to make sure they have a truly enjoyable stay
.
We are happy to read you enjoyed your meal and that you received good service from our team
.
We would happily welcome you back in the future, this time you know to bring the tennis rackets.

David Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    279
    98
    52
    30
See reviews for
473
404
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, luxurious large clean room......jacuzzi bath....ultra comfy beds & pillows ( which you can purchase new ones if required) good restaurant and fabulous breakfast.....full spa facilities & swimming.......hope to return !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violetrulesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for your review. We value our guests feedback very highly as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the spaciousness of our bedrooms. It was our pleasure having you dine with us in the restaurant and that your enjoyed your breakfast.

We thank you for visiting our spa and leisure facilities, we encourage all our guests to visit them, to receive their feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The rooms were spacious, well equipped and comfortable. The food excellent and breakfast had a wide and varied selection for all palates and appitites.

The staff were outstanding, nothing was too much trouble without their attention being over zealous or unwelcomed.

The purpose of the trip was a family wedding which was planned with the utmost prescision and executed with grace and style overseen by Mrs. Fitzgerald herself. Every aspect was carefull orchastrated and the whole event and stay at Woodlands sheer delight. I can't wait to visit again, hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholsplashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel and the wedding reception.

We are so pleased to hear you had wonderful time at the wedding, from the food to the service to the accommodation. As we specialise in weddings, we always try to do our upmost to cater for everyone’s needs. We are privileged to have hosted the wedding and we hope the happy couple are enjoying life together. Be sure to visit our leisure centre next time you stay with us, it is a superb attraction for both adults and children.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will endeavour to provide some treats with our compliments.

Thanks again,
Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fitzgerald's suffers from being too popular with the locals which makes it noisy and crowded. The hotel is older and the age is showing. It is not a comfortable or luxurious place. If you are looking for something peaceful, quite and upscale, this is not the place. We booked a family room for our family of four which was essentially three beds in a row with little room for sitting to read or check email. The crowded lobbies made it hard to find a spot to get away. We had a bug infestation outside our room and it was treated as no big deal by the staff. There was a dead (dried out) mouse on the sidewalk just outside the bistro that we walked by day in and day out when going to our car. While the hotel prides itself on cleanliness and service, we just found it to be old and tired. As noted in other reviews, the hotel is not walkable to Adare which is also a negative as Adare is a charming little village with great shops, restaurants and sites.

On the plus side, Anna at the front desk was lovely and helpful. She remembered us, helped with anything we needed and was very friendly. We were greeted with balloons and cupcakes for my husband's birthday. The onsite bistro is nice and the food is good and there is variety. The breakfast buffet and service are good. And the overall cost of the rooms is low.

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking, make sure your room is not near one of the hallway side doors, as that is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We and our expanded family of nine have stayed a number of times at the Fitzgerald Woodlands Hotel and would highly recommended it. We like being greeted by name and 'Welcome back' from the reception / Restaurant, Pool and Bedroom staff. All the staff are most helpful and willing to offer help without being asked. We enjoy dining in Timmy Mac's restaurant and the friendly service. If your on a diet be careful, the variety on offer at breakfast is tempting. The Fitzgerald management team come across as most caring about their guests comfort and enjoyment. The swimming pool/changing area spotless. Walking through the hotel everyone gives a friendly greeting.

Room Tip: Spacious spotlessly clean, bright cheerful room on the ground floor. We were 3 adults and had loads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael8304365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. We would also like to say how grateful we are for your loyalty by returning to our hotel with your extended family. We appreciate your patronage.

Staff are a valuable asset in our hotel and we are delighted that you experienced our friendly and welcoming staff.

We as a family enjoy being hands on and ensuring our guests are happy and comfortable at all times.

We are also very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our swimming pool while staying with us and that you consider our leisure club to be spotless.

Thank you also for your kind comments on Timmy Mac's bistro.

We would like to thank you again for recommending our hotel.

We hope to see you and your family again in the near future. Please let us know if you are planning a return visit and we will endeavour to provide you with a bedroom upgrade with our compliments.

Thanks again,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family reserved 3 rooms for a night while we were visiting relatives nearby. The hotel was very clean and the beds were the most comfortable we experienced in Ireland! The rooms were spacious, which was a nice change from the many small b&b's we stayed in. The pool was clean, you will need a swim cap though (sold for a nominal fee). Breakfast was buffet style and was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 767traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for your review. We value our guests feedback very highly as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years. We would also like to thank you and your family members for choosing our hotel as part of your vacation.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the spaciousness of our bedrooms. Saying that our hotel gave you your best sleep in Ireland is a huge compliment. We also appreciate your positive observations on the cleanliness of our hotel.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed your swim in our hotel pool. Please note that the swimming hats are a requirement as part of our white flag hygiene audit. This ensures a better swimming environment for all of our guests.

Thanking you also for your kind words on the extent and quality of our breakfast buffet.

Thanking you again for your visit and your review. Please let us know when you are planning a return visit and we will endeavour to upgrade your bedroom with our compliments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Slightly dated feel to hotel but added to charm and service impeccable

Breakfasts good - room lovely including jacuzzi in bath. Very peaceful bedroom.

My only complaint was it was not possible to walk to Adare as the roads were mega busy and no foot paths - hotel advise against and I can see why. Therefore sat in traffic to get to pub and then one of us had to drive! - could do with a foot path through the golf course!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello,

Many thanks for your review. We really value our guests' feedback and we appreciate the time taken to complete the same.

We are also really chuffed that you consider our service to be impeccable and that our breakfast was highly rated.

We are also delighted you enjoyed you bedroom and found it peaceful. We are equally pleased that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi in your bedroom.

We are sorry you felt our hotel was a little dated. We have recently refurbished our lobby and both of our restaurants. Our recent refurbishment focus has been on our bedroom areas so hopefully on your next visit you will see a newer hotel.

Please let us know if you are planning a return visit and we will endeavour to provide you with a room upgrade with our compliments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Elaina Fitzgerald and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
10.7 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing