We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Return Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Return Visit”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have stayed at the Woodlands a handful of times and was always very pleased with my visit. When I arrived for this visit I was immediately taken back by the unfriendly manner in which I was greeted. No smile, no verbal greeting. After a few minutes the Associate warmed up a little and did answer a couple of questions after checking in. When walking to the room with rolling luggage and swinging doors which don't mix 2 housekeepers raced by and didn't even acknowledge us or the difficulty we were having with the doors. I found our room to be a bit dated and the bathroom looked clean but had lots of mold on the tile and tub area. In the evening we did eat in Tim Mack's restaurant and found the entire staff friendly and helpful. The food was very good and plentiful. I don't know if I will run to stay again. I chose this hotel on past performance and location to Shannon Airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fennels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    327
    120
    59
    32
See reviews for
581
467
24
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Armagh
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent hotel,lovely rooms,good food,staff friendly and very helpful.
Good location approx 8 miles from Limerick and a couple of miles from Adare village.
Would recommend this hotel highly and would certainly use it again if i was back around this area.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good and the hotel is approx 100 yards from the road there is no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglasCountyArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here with another couple for 5 nights in September, 2013 and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is quite lovely and service was excellent. Breakfast was included and was generally quite good. Occasionally the eggs were overdone but we are late breakfasters and they had likely been waiting on the steam table for a while. Other times they were perfect (timing is everything). There is an amazing pool with both lap swim and lounging areas as well as a hot tub, steam and sauna that are off limits to children. There is also a beautiful spa but we did not take advantage of it. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds, wonderful pillows and a seating area.
Most important was the service. Those who packed our car (husbands!) managed to miss one of the bags with personal necessities when we left. It was going to be overnighted to our next stop but there was a mix-up over the credit card and security codes so the owner actually drove the suitcase to our next hotel in Dublin at no expense. That is service above and beyond for any hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ball Ground, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We mostly stayed in B and B's. This was a change from our trip routine. It had a giant indoor pool, hot tub...fitness center, and a day spa. I had a complete body seaweed wrap that was awesome. Great Buffet breakfast. Adare is a wonderful scenic town. Enjoyed so much. Note that it is very spread out..and has stairs...so be prepared to walk a bit. Bellmen aren't plentiful...but don't worry just be prepared. If you need help they will get someone.

Room Tip: Ask for Ground Floor if you have problem negotiating stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maigh Mheáin, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

In comparison to any other Debs I have been to, fitzgeralds was exceptional. Everyone had a great day and nigh with a lovely reception and meal not to mention the after party, It was a complete success and we will definetely consider this venue for the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent Hotel, Reception staff brilliant, Rooms very clean and comfortable, food excellent.We would certainly make a return visit- nothing was too much trouble you only had to ask for help.Ideally situated for visiting Limerick and Killarney also Bunratty and Tipperary The village of Adare is typically Irish

Room Tip: For elderly people ask for ground floor, there is not a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed in the Woodlands with family members. The setting of the hotel is wonderful in a nice quiet setting just outside the town of Adare. The staff here were excellent attending to all our requirements with efficiency. The spa experience is one to remember, I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and will stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryhaywych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,433 reviews
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing