We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea at the Woodlands Adare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nenagh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at the Woodlands Adare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We visited the Woodlands House Hotel on Sunday last for afternoon tea. The hotel was quite busy at the time, but luckily we were seated in a quiet spot away from most of the activity. I would highly recommend the afternoon tea! The sandwiches were made to order and the service was excellent. The desserts were simply delicious and we were offered refills of tea on two occasions. We are always made to feel welcome by staff and management at the Woodlands and I would definitely recommend a visit for afternoon tea!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    285
    101
    53
    31
See reviews for
496
412
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had our wedding ceremony amd reception in the woodlands hotel. Words cant describe just jow perfect it was. It was better than I ever thought it could be. Dave and all the staff really dis everything they could to make our day a dream come true. All our guests who stayed in the hotel were so pleased with the sizes amd quality of their rooms and the breakfast the following morning was fantastic.
The whole day of the wedding and the months leading up to it would not have gone smoothly without the dedicated staff and management at the woodlands.
It will always be a day to remember ;)

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We has a 2 night stay at this very nice hotel,room & bathroom very clean. The only fault I would have with the room was a single step in the the bedroom just outside the bathroom door & althought there was a light in the step it was very dangers if you had to go to the bathroom during the night

Room Tip: Watch the step in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank special_one006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have stayed at the Woodlands a handful of times and was always very pleased with my visit. When I arrived for this visit I was immediately taken back by the unfriendly manner in which I was greeted. No smile, no verbal greeting. After a few minutes the Associate warmed up a little and did answer a couple of questions after checking in. When walking to the room with rolling luggage and swinging doors which don't mix 2 housekeepers raced by and didn't even acknowledge us or the difficulty we were having with the doors. I found our room to be a bit dated and the bathroom looked clean but had lots of mold on the tile and tub area. In the evening we did eat in Tim Mack's restaurant and found the entire staff friendly and helpful. The food was very good and plentiful. I don't know if I will run to stay again. I chose this hotel on past performance and location to Shannon Airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fennels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Armagh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent hotel,lovely rooms,good food,staff friendly and very helpful.
Good location approx 8 miles from Limerick and a couple of miles from Adare village.
Would recommend this hotel highly and would certainly use it again if i was back around this area.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good and the hotel is approx 100 yards from the road there is no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglasCountyArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here with another couple for 5 nights in September, 2013 and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is quite lovely and service was excellent. Breakfast was included and was generally quite good. Occasionally the eggs were overdone but we are late breakfasters and they had likely been waiting on the steam table for a while. Other times they were perfect (timing is everything). There is an amazing pool with both lap swim and lounging areas as well as a hot tub, steam and sauna that are off limits to children. There is also a beautiful spa but we did not take advantage of it. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds, wonderful pillows and a seating area.
Most important was the service. Those who packed our car (husbands!) managed to miss one of the bags with personal necessities when we left. It was going to be overnighted to our next stop but there was a mix-up over the credit card and security codes so the owner actually drove the suitcase to our next hotel in Dublin at no expense. That is service above and beyond for any hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ball Ground, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We mostly stayed in B and B's. This was a change from our trip routine. It had a giant indoor pool, hot tub...fitness center, and a day spa. I had a complete body seaweed wrap that was awesome. Great Buffet breakfast. Adare is a wonderful scenic town. Enjoyed so much. Note that it is very spread out..and has stairs...so be prepared to walk a bit. Bellmen aren't plentiful...but don't worry just be prepared. If you need help they will get someone.

Room Tip: Ask for Ground Floor if you have problem negotiating stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing