We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visit 22nd April 2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“visit 22nd April 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Visited this hotel as my daughter was taking some exams nearby. We arrived ,,along with the M2M cycle group, at 5pm and our room was not ready. When we did get room - 211 it was adequate but would need redecorating. The beds I agree were so comfy - the TV yes should be dumped. The leisure center was good but the changing room was dirty and we went back to our room to shower. I must say the food in the dining room was very good and a wide choice. The staff were professional, well dressed and helpful. Breakfast was also excellent. Should the rooms be redecorated and the changing area of the leisure center attended to - this is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Phone in advance to ensure your room is ready. Bring a robe to the leisure area and dont use the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback giving by our guests. Thank you for your positive comments on our beds, leisure club, restaurants, breakfast and especially our team. Over the last 18 months we have done quiet a lot of refurbishments to our general areas such as lobby, restaurants and functions rooms. You may have noticed this on your visit. We have now extended our refurbishments to the bedrooms so please do not hesitate to contact us on your next visit and we will do our very best to accommodate you in one of our newly decorated rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
The Fitzgerald Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    279
    98
    52
    30
See reviews for
473
404
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

A group of us stayed for one night while taking part in a charity cycle. (More like a holiday for those of us not cycling). A room was provided for bike storage, a private dining room for our delicious dinner, staff very friendly and helpful, (the lady who owns the hotel even came to chat to us, very personal touch). The leisure centre provided a much needed relaxing hour or two. If we had one complaint it was that the bed was so comfortable it was hard to leave it. Will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review and positive comments. It was an absolute pleasure to look after you all. Our team very much appreciates your feedback.

We are delighted that you experienced our friendly and welcoming staff during your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food that we offer and were pleased with the service provided. We as a family enjoy being hands on and ensuring our guests are happy and comfortable at all times.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a much needed relaxing break in our leisure centre and enjoyed your stay in our extra comfy beds.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

When booking this accommodation, we were informed that there was a wedding on the premises but for an ADDITIONAL cost we would be given a quiet room. We paid the extra but were taken aback when we arrived at the hotel to find the wedding guests spilling outside and down the steps. We just assumed that there was another entrance, couldn't locate it and reluctantly excused our way through everybody.

Once inside, we couldn't find reception due to the crowd. After wandering through the bar and pub area, eventually located SOMEONE who directed us back through the hordes of guests to a reception desk in a corner. Receptionist (and us) had to shout to be heard. The only reason that we didn't pack up and leave at that stage was that it was getting dark, it was raining and we were tired and just wanted to get to our room, have a shower and relax. Squeezing back through the tightly packed throng, we retrieved our luggage from the car and repeated the procedure, dragging our bags behind us! Neither we, nor the wedding guests, were happy about this.

The room was ordinary and a bit shabby - (vinyl was peeling off the arm chair, door on wardrobe broken), but the bed was comfortable and we looked forward to a good night's sleep. Decided to head to the bar for a drink. Alas, the bar, too, was packed with wedding guests and it was difficult to even get a seat, let alone a drink. The noise was deafening, and the whole experience was hideous - not what you want to experience when on holiday!

Dinner at the traditional pub was great, staff were lovely and we enjoyed that experience.

Went to bed...slept very little due to exuberant wedding guests accessing their rooms (they had to tramp past ours) way into the wee hours - noise subsided around 5am! To add insult to injury there was also a hammer-drill-like noise which I understand was from one of the adjacent internal doors.

Next morning, the stairs going up to our room were littered with lolly wrappers and no effort was made to clean this mess up - staff appeared more occupied with major post wedding tasks.

Breakfast, however, was magnificent! We had the place to ourselves as we were up so early!

At check-out out, the receptionist asked "how was your stay"? When I told her that it had been awful and we hadn't slept all night, she actually laughed!!! I informed her it was NOT a laughing matter - she stopped smiling, but clearly couldn't have cared less.

I would NEVER stay at this hotel, nor would I recommend it to anyone. Shame really, the foyer (when not packed with people and wedding paraphernalia) was quite beautiful.

Room Tip: Ensure that there are no functions happening during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabellequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take all feedback on board positive and negative alike & this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

Thank you for your comments on Timmy macs Bistro, your breakfast experience and our staff. Timmy Macs Bistro is very popular with our customers and this is something we pride ourselves on.

I apologise that you had difficulty finding reception on arrival to the hotel. It is located just inside the main door but I do understand that with many people in the lobby it may be difficult to see as it is a more comfortable style seated registration

I would like to clarify that we don’t charge extra for placing guests away from wedding guests and the wedding function room. The bedroom that was offered was a superior or deluxe room and is situated further away from our function room.

I do understand that you were not happy with your room. If you had made reception aware of the issue they would have endeavored to move you to another room. We try to accommodate all of our guests requests. Just to mention that we are currently refurbishing approximately another 30 bedrooms so we hope that if you were to stay with us again, that you would enjoy a more comfortable experience.

In relation to your comments about our receptionist. She genuinely did not realize the seriousness of our complaint because it is not one which we encounter on a normal basis. It appears to have been taken as what we call tongue in cheek. Our team is trained to the highest of standards and take ever comment very seriously. I do apologies if you felt she was not taking the matter seriously.

Again I thank you for your comments and if you do decide to return which I sincerely hope that you will do, I would like to offer you a complimentary stay. Please contact me directly at the email address outlined below to organize the same.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
The Fitzgerald Family
efitzgerald@woodlands-hotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for one night in the Woodlands Hotel in connection with a Wedding recently. The wedding reception from the time we came in the door right to the end of the meal was excellent. When we went up to the room we tried to turn on the 'telly' which should have been thrown out 10 years ago, and it nearly failed us. The bed was good, but there was a 'musty' smell in the room. Our room was in the older part of the hotel.
The music at the wedding was very loud, certainly above the required level. The Hotel should see to it that such detail is attended to.
Breakfast was OK.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fionnuala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello,

We would like to thank you for all positive comments on the wedding you attended. We value our guests feedback very highly as this has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

You have not stated which room you were in so I have to assume it was our standard rooms. We offer these to guests at a discounted rate for weddings as they are our older rooms and are back to back with the wedding function room. When these rooms are being booked our reservations team make it clear to guests that there will be a level of noise and that the room is by all means standard. I do hope that this was stated to you at time of booking and I apologise if it was not. We would have endeavored to change your room on the day if you brought this issue to our attention.

We are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms and we hope that you do return again to us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will endeavour to provide a complimentary upgrade with our compliments.

Kind Regards
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've been lucky to have stayed here for family breaks, weddings etc but this time was a business trip. On arrival I was warmly greeted and was in my room in minutes, it was a good size room, nice and clean. I had a wonderful late lunch and ended up not eating dinner as I was still so stuffed! I arrived late back at the hotel and even though the restaurant was closed they receptionist did go and organise coffee, sandwiches etc.
After a great nights sleep I had a lovely lunch with loads of options from fruit, porridge, full breakfast etc.
Overall this is a comfortable hotel, great staff and wonderful food and as the title suggests it is a real home from home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnc3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many thanks for posting such a very kind review of our hotel. Our guests feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years. It is great to hear that you returned to stay with us again.

We are delighted to hear you received friendly and helpful service from all of our staff that you encountered during your stay with us from beginning to end. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of your bedroom and appreciate that you noticed the cleanliness of the room.

Thanks also for your kind praise of the food served especially the extensive breakfast with full Irish buffet.

Thanking you again for your kind review and for your loyalty. It is appreciated and valued. Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Usually hotels have a problem with a family of two adults and three kids but not here, an extra bed was provided in the room - much better than being forced to book two rooms!
The hotel was very clean, neat and parking was free and plenty of spaces.
The room was fine.
Breakfast was great as as the evening meal. Enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar in friendly surroundings.
Friendly staff and a perfect location for our first trip to Ireland.
Will be definitely consider another stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warbywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful family stay with us and we appreciate your kind feedback.

We were only delighted to provide an extra bed for the room and are pleased to hear you were happy with your stay. We appreciate that you noticed the cleanliness of the hotel and that you were satisfied with the parking provided.

Thanks also for your kind praise of the food served as well as the friendliness of our team. It is genuinely much appreciated by all of us as the staff are a valuable asset in our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first trip to Ireland and greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your stay.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Recently spent a night at the Woodlands, a hotel I've visited many times. The lobby/reception area had undergone a refurbish and looked lovely but unfortunately did not extend to Room 202 which was like it would have been when the hotel first opened and completely forgotten about. The decor was just awful, totally mis-matched, the carpet filthy, bathroom was ok other than a spider hanging over the toilet and the sink & taps looking like something out of the 60s. There was nothing to put our luggage on but evidence that there had been as it was clearly marked on the carpet but had been taken away for some reason. Thankfully the beds were clean and comfortable other than the pillows which were so flat you would literally sink into them and need at least 2.
We ate dinner and breakfast in Timmy Mac's Bistro none of which I could fault. There was an excellent 4 course menu for €25 and the overall menu was very good and varied, good wholesome food.
Grace on check in/out was just lovely.
I really like the Woodlands, its a good all round hotel and maybe we were just unlucky enough to be put in a room that's next on the list for refurbishment?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a comment. Thank you also for your loyalty as I see you mentioned you have stayed with us on previous occasions. Our lobby has been refurbished recently and we are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms also. Your previous stays may have been in superior rooms which were available at the time of booking and in this case a superior may not have been available. This may have led to a lower perception of quality. We would have been delighted to change your room had you have made us aware of it at the time.

Thank you for your comment on the friendliness of our team in Timmy Macs Bistro and the standard of service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit and we will endeavor to provide a complimentary upgrade with our compliments.

Kind Regards
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing