We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once great?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Once great?”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel looks like at one time it had a lot to offer. Now it looks in need of a lot of work. It is huge but there was not much going on. The room was at the very end (526) and We walk throughout 12 doors to get to the lobby. The tv had little to offer and the room was big but not much in it to make it attractive. Breakfast was at Timmy's and was good. The pool looked very nice, part of a health club. We were not in Ireland to swim. Located in the country it was a drive to see anything. Fixed up and getting some things going this could be a destination for some. It best days are far behind! Had a roar outside our room all night. Sounded like a huge truck but was not??? Made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your visit and your time spent submitting your feedback from your stay- particular thanks for your positive Timmy Mac's and leisure club comments- it is positive comments like these that have contributed to our recent receipt of a 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence award which underlines our commitment to providing the highest level of guest care and hotel services in our homely family run hotel.

We have taken note regarding the doors which is being addressed as part of our Room refurbishment programme which is at an advanced stage and which is a follow on to our refurbished lobby and restaurant. There is significant investment being undertaken in our hotel which we hope will complement our homely and friendly services.

It is important to acknowledge that our Hotel has lots to offer in terms of a 5 star Spa, Health and Leisure Club which includes 20 meter pool, lounger pool, geyser pool, kiddies pool, private health suite with sauna steam room and jacuzzi, 1500 square foot Gym and our Woody's Kids Club.

We feel our countryside setting is an advantage - our visitors enjoy peace, our wooded grounds and our pet corner. The beautiful Adare village is just 5 minutes away, while Limerick City center is just 15.

We thank you for your feedback and assure you that it is being addressed as customer feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

Yours Sincerely
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    315
    118
    56
    31
See reviews for
545
453
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent. England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Again Woodlands hotel lives up to expectations, wonderful cloud like beds and amazing breakfasts. Had a fantastic manicure in the Spa (thank you Marie) very professional.
Feel so pampered and rested, thank you all.
Ann L.Murphy. (Kent)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberry64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and we appreciate your very kind feedback. We also very much appreciate your loyalty in returning back to the hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our extra comfy beds and that you enjoyed our extensive full Irish breakfast buffet.

We are delighted to hear that you visited Revas Spa and had a nice relaxing break. We really appreciate your comments on our staff members also.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Food is lovely and the hotel is just fabulous.really kept very clean and kept to the highest of standards.lovely seating area inside in the lobby.and in the car park at the end they have lovely animals there.so it kept the kids amused spend part of the day in and out to look at the animals there was turkey's and pheasants and baby chicks really worth a visit.and there is also loads of space for kids to run around and play there is also a swimming pool there and a spa for treatments for both women and men too

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleesonbrazill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We would like to thank you so much for taking some time to post such a lovely review of our hotel. It really is so complimentary and makes all of our efforts so worthwhile. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We would like to thank you for the kind words you said about our food and also for noticing the cleanliness of the hotel. It is very much appreciated by us all. We have recently refurbished our Lobby so we appreciate your positive and kind comments.

We are delighted to hear that the kids enjoyed seeing the animals.

Thanking you again for your positive comments. Guest feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I have been going here for years upon years and it seems to get better every time. The staff are so welcoming, the food is always piping hot and tasty and the rooms are roomy and spotlessly clean. Great location in the heart of adare town. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We would like to thank you so much for taking some time to post such a lovely review of our hotel. It really is so complimentary and makes all of our efforts so worthwhile. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yet another stay at our hotel. It is so great to hear that you have returned to stay with us many times.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your bedroom and appreciate that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Thanks also for your kind praise of the food served. We greatly appreciate you recommending our hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

a group of 36 went for a meal and we must say it was excellent. Staff were very helpful and accommodating no matter what was asked for was no problem. An ideal location the place absolutely looks fab and very good value. We plan on going back again so a big thank you to all who work in the woodlands hotel

Room Tip: We did not stay this time but i have stayed there before it was very good value and a great breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irwine20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and we appreciate your very kind feedback.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Our staff are a major asset to our business and we are delighted to hear you received friendly and helpful service from all of our staff that you encountered during your dining experience. We try very hard to give more than 100% to all of our guests so it is very rewarding when this is noticed.

Thanking you for your kind comments about our hotel and for all of your very positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated by all of us here at the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you will be returning again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It took three tries after we checked in to find a somewhat acceptable room. The first two were remote and difficult to access with luggage. There are no elevators (lifts) and many door passages to get to some rooms so be aware of that. Rooms were dusty and smelled of cigarette smoke (there were ashes on the windowsill), and the outside of the windows were covered in bird droppings.

On the good side, the bistro restaurant served very good food for dinner and breakfast - the lamb shank was perfectly prepared and the Irish Steak and Guinness Pie was very good also. And the bistro service was prompt and friendly.

The village of Adare is very nice for shopping and dining, but about 10 km away. There is little else to do in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor - no elevators. Some rooms are a long walk from registration area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are very disappointed to hear of your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you could not find an acceptable room that suited you. We understand that our corridors are quite long and we do not offer a lift as the building is only one story high. However we do offer porterage on request at reception.

It is very out of the norm to receive complaints on the cleanliness of our rooms. I will bring this matter to the attention of our housekeeping staff in order to prevent such an issue happening in the future.

On the other hand we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food served in our bistro as well as our extensive irish buffet breakfast. We are also glad that you were happy with the service provided by our staff that you encountered during your meal.

I would like to state that Adare Village centre is 3.3km from the hotel, not 10km. I feel this is important to mention as future readers will have a misperception of our distance to Adare.

Thanking you once again for posting a review and your feedback has been taken into consideration by all of our team here at the Woodlands.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI,INDIA
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Location- I personally loved the location and the farm next to it. Drive to the town is about 5 Mins.
Food- I am vegetarian and in our culture we donot have eggs. so for me there were hardly any options in their restaurant. In my rest of ireland trip i got excellent vegetarian food. But still the chef tried his best and made us a curry which tasted really wonderful. the breakfast was nice.
Service- Felt that the service wasnt as personalised as i expected, but still it was good.
Rooms- rooms are beautifully done. they are big spacious well equipped and well furnished.
Price- excellent for the package.
Parking-Plenty of parking available.
Overall- A wonderful stopover to see a wonderful town, with wonderful people in a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamsTravelogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Many thanks for posting such a very kind review of our hotel. Our guests feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

Thanking you for your kind words regarding the food that you were served and our extensive Irish buffet breakfast. We are beginning to introduce many new vegetarian dishes however we offer many vegetarian choices on request so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal that our chef prepared for you.

We are sorry to hear that you felt the service was not very personalised.The staff are a valuable asset in our hotel and our team try very hard to give more than 100% to all of our guests however your comments have been taken into consideration.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your room and how spacious and well equipped it was and we are delighted that you were happy with the price package that you received.

Thanking you once again for your kind feedback and positive comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,414 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing