We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely facility undergoing changes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Quitman, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Lovely facility undergoing changes”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I agree with an earlier review about the difficulty of rolling one's luggage through 12 doors to get from the lobby to one's room. Property refurbishment takes time, and we were very unhappy upon settling into our rooms (410 and 412) to hear ear-deafening drilling in the bathroom of an adjacent room. The present heat wave necessitated keeping the windows open, thereby exacerbating the problem. The noise went on for about 45 minutes after we expressed our displeasure to management. We were assured that it would not be repeated during the remainder of our two-night stay. At dinner in Timmy's that night our drinks were comped to make up for the inconvenience. ... That being said, our rooms had already been refurbished and were beautiful and quite comfortable. Our meals were delicious, and we enjoyed sitting at one of the outside tables in front of the hotel on a beautiful sunny afternoon. Very nice setting for a hotel - this is understandably a popular spot for weddings and other corporate events.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologise for any disturbances and inconvenience that our recent refurbishments may have caused you during your stay. In relation to our bedrooms, for the past six months, we have been undergoing a refurbishment programme in this area. We understand that there has been quite a high noise level during this time and we apologise for this.

However we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the décor of your newly refurbished bedroom. It really is so complimentary and makes all of our efforts so worthwhile. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals and we are delighted that you were lucky enough to experience some fine sunny weather during your stay, We are particularly delighted that you commented on our lovely grounds as we are surrounded by 40 acres of farmland.

Thanking you once again for posting your review. We apologise once again for any inconvenience caused during you stay and we do hope to see you again in the near future. Please let us know if you are planning to stay again and we will endeavor to provide an upgrade with our compliments.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    326
    120
    58
    32
See reviews for
580
467
24
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid-June for one night. The hotel property was very nice. To say it is a hotel is a misnomer, it really is a resort property. Although we did not have the chance to use the facilities, it did make us want to return someday.

The room we had was a family room, with a very large main room, a separate bedroom with twin beds, a dining area and a large bathroom. The rooms were in good shape, but were a bit dated and in need of updating. While we were there they were in the process of updating some rooms and I hope they continue on to all of the rooms.

The main room was oval shaped and had windows in a semi-circle around the room. The bed was a neat 70's style round bed, which was great for nostalgia, but was not as comfortable as it could have been. We did have the fortunate/unfortunate experience of being in Adare when it was very sunny and warm. This made the walk around the town very pretty, but the room did not have air conditioning and so it was stuffy and hot. The windows opened up only at the top and did not provide enough circulation.

Overall, we had a decent experience at the hotel and will check it out again if we should find ourselves in Adare again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRDallas251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and we appreciate your kind feedback.

Thanking you for your kinds words about our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not get the chance to experience our leisure facilities, however we hope that you will return someday to experience what we have to offer.

Thank you for your comments in relation to your bedroom. For the past 6 months we have indeed been carrying out refurbishments to our bedrooms and it has not yet been completed. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find your bed to be as comfortable as expected. The weather has been extremely hot and humid of recent times and we understand that the rooms can be quite stuffy so we do apologise for this. The windows in that particular room are quite large and for safety reasons can only be opened at the top half.

Thanking you for posting your review and for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable overall experience. We hope to see you in Adare again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Elaina,

Wanted to thank you and all your staff for a wonderful day had by our employees here in Kerry Foods. Feedback on venue and especially the food afterwards has been brilliant and I wanted to pass this onto you.

Please thank Veronica, Sinead, Mags, everyone involved and all those behind the scene who played their part in a very successful day.

Brenda Walsh
HR Officer

The sunshine was an extra bonus !! - Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Brenda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent company event held in the hotel.

We are so pleased to hear that you and all of the employees of Kerry Foods enjoyed such a wonderful day with us and that the sunshine helped in making the day even more enjoyable. It was an absolute pleasure to look after all of you and are thrilled that you had such a successful day with us. Thanking you for your kind praise of the food that was served after the event. I will pass on your thanks to the girls and everyone involved in the day. Our team very much appreciates your feedback.

Thanking you once again for posting such a kind review.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An Irishman a Dutchman and a German go into a hotel at 5 pm. The German wanted to watch the world cup match and the barman changed the TV channel and set him up with a pint of the best Guinness the German had ever drunk. Happy German. The Dutchman did not like soccer but was a trainee golfer. So reception rang the Adare Manor championship hotel and golf resort (their nearby competition) and set him up with clubs and a 9 hole 1&1/2 hour game. The sun was so hot, the coarse so so beautiful, the poor bloody Irishman who never played golf had to babysit him rather than swim in the Woodlands lovely swimming pool! You have to make sacrifices for your country. The Dutchman also wanted a linen top for his Dutch wife which we picked up in the beautiful Adare model village. Every shop who did not have it, recommended the next shop that may have it, until 4 shops later we found it. Score score score and Germans won the match! Thank you; Adare village and the Woodlands hotel for you co-operation and service above the norm.

Room Tip: Very Friendly people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are delighted that you and your guests had a wonderful experience with us and we appreciate your very kind feedback.

We are so very pleased to hear that you were happy with the service provided and that you were well looked after by our staff here at the hotel. It is genuinely much appreciated by all of us as the staff is a valuable asset in our hotel. We try very hard to give more than 100% to all of our guests so it is very rewarding when this is noticed. We are delighted that all three of you were happy with your visit to the hotel.

Thanking you again for your very kind review and positive comments. We hope to see you in Adare again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A really friendly family run hotel, currently under-going some much needed updating. The bedrooms are large with great shower & extremely comfortable beds. A couple of modern touches, such as a fridge, would have been nice.

Food was good all week, and service very friendly and efficient. The bar is rather uninspiring, with far more character to be found in the nearby town less than 10 euros taxi ride away.

Quality of sleep was generally good, just one extremely noisy night with wedding guests - not too surprising given the focus of the hotel towards the weekend.

Overall we received good value for money, and there are a number of good golf courses near-by.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris737320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your review. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and we appreciate your kind feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of your bedroom. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme in relation to our bedrooms in order to upgrade and modernize them.

Thanks also for your kind praise of the food served as well as the efficiency and friendliness of our team. However we are sorry to hear that you found the bar uninspiring here at our hotel.

We specialise in hosting weddings here at the hotel and we understand that the hotel can be quite noisy during this time so we do apologise for this.

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay overall and value for money that you received. Thanking you for all of your positive comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had my wedding there I couldn't fault anything. Elaina, Mary and all the staff couldn't do enough for me my new husband and all our guests. The warmth and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. The food was amazing and everyone is still talking about it today. Looking forward to attending another wedding there. Marie & Joe

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieb1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Marie & Joe,

Thank you so much for the fabulous review of our hotel and your wedding reception. We were delighted to be a part of your special day and it makes all our efforts worthwhile knowing you had such a fabulous day.

We specialise in hosting weddings and we really enjoy being part of the most important day of a couple's lives. We really try to make it as stress free as possible for the couple and we are delighted to hear that your experience reflects our efforts. It is lovely to hear that your guests were happy with the food and service provided.

Thanks again for your wonderful review. We hope to see you both in the near future and look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel often, but now think it needs updating, our room was very cold, but when I mentioned this to reception the heating was put on, no problem. The beds in this hotel are some of the most comfortable I have found, and the breakfast is one of the best, such a good selection. On Sunday night when I stayed they had a country band, John McNicholl playing and we enjoyed this very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheYoungOnes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWoodlands, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for posting such a very kind review of our hotel. Our guests feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years. It is great to hear that you returned to stay with us again.

We are sorry to hear that you found your room was very cold but are pleased to hear that reception dealt with this immediately.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our extra comfy beds and thank you for your kind comments on our extensive breakfast. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the music also on Sunday night.

Thank you very much again for taking the time to post such a positive review.

Kind Regards,
Elaina Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,537 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing