We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marshmallow Beds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marshmallow Beds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel over the weekend. The rooms were fantastic and the service was brilliant. The only downside of the service was when we were booking in the girl at reception was extremely arrogant and rude. Other from that wee hic up the weekend was amazing and the food was absolutely fantastic - they couldn't give us enough. Would definitely recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for leaving a review.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our rooms, service and the food. We appreciate all our guests feedback as it is the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years.

I am surprised and apologetic to hear of your experience at Reception. This is not the standard of service we provide and the team have been made aware of this.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    279
    98
    52
    30
See reviews for
473
404
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel had beautiful grounds, a nice location, and a beautiful pool area with jacuzzi and a steam and sauna. Everything was very clean and they were actually in the process of updating.
Everyone was very helpful, especially Grace at the front desk. Beds could be slightly more comfortable.

Room Tip: We had two beds in the room. One was comfortable, the other very uncomfortable. So I would check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melsey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments on our location and leisure facilities
are greatly appreciated. Thank you also for complimenting our front of house staff, I have passed on your praise to Grace. Apologies that you found your bed uncomfortable. We would have endeavoured to change your room if you brought it to our attention.

I hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

Yours Sincerely,
Elaina Fitzgerald
The Fitzgerald Family and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed over night for a birthday celebration,the room was comfortable,beautifully decorated and lovely treats left for us and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to bring it home.
We ate in Timmy Macs and it was lovely fresh well presented food.
The staff were helpful and friendly and a promp service.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Book earley
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the pet area and gardens great for photography
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rose b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your comments on our staff. They are a valuable asset to the hotel and we are very proud of them and the standards of service they give to our guests.

Thank you again

The Fitzgerald Family and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We havent stayed in the hotel but we have eaten, looked around alot and delt with staff as we are seriously considering it as our wedding venue. You will not find nicer hotel staff and management anywhere else. They will do anything and everything for you. We looked at alot of places and know where were we made feel as welcome and pampered. I cannot recommend them enough 5 * to David and crew

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lizlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always nice to be complimented on the team we have here. If you need any more information regarding your wedding celebration or would like to set up an appointment you know where to call.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I could write a very long review about this hotel..... But as tempting as it is, I will just give you the facts.
Read the 3 and 4 star reviews other travelers have left, they are pretty accurate!
Here it goes:
The first room we were given stunk of cigarette smoke (even though it was a no smoking room) and as they are renovating some rooms, it was very noisy.
The second room we were given didn't have the bed set up we had requested, but it didn't smell. The bed sloped and sank in the middle but it was bearable. At 8am we discovered a cute mouse in the room :-) thankfully, we are not too faced by them (a rat would have been a different story!).
In general the rooms are very basic but more or less average for a 3 star hotel.
The restaurant was good and the staff excellent.
The breakfast was also very good (served in the same restaurant where we had dinner) and the staff excellent again.
The spa is ok. The gym has everything you could possibly want and it is big. The pool is nice. I didn't use the sauna or their changing rooms, so I can't comment on them.
It is true that the pub smells of beer....but it is a pub!! So, yes, I agree with a previous traveller, but it is not so bad. We stayed there for 2 hours and we survived ok :-)
So, I would probably not come back if I had a choice, but if I had to, I wouldn't think it was the end if the world.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnaOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. Our guests feedback has been the bedrock of our success over the last 30 years. We are glad that you observed our refurbishments during your stay. We are continually trying to advance the experience of our guests. We are also thankful that you enjoyed our dining & that you perceived that our staff excelled. We are blessed with a great core team of staff who are committed to enhancing our guests stay with us. Many thanks also for your comments regarding the wonderful facilities that we have in our leisure club in terms of our pool, gym, sauna, jacuzzi & other facilities.

I am really sorry to learn that you had to change rooms because of a smell of smoke. Our hotel operates a 100% non smoking policy in guestrooms with penalties for guests who fail to respect this rule. Thankfully, we seldom have to apply the same because for the most part guests appreciate and respect the non smoking bedroom policy in the hotel. We are sorry that this proved to be an issue for you on arrival but we are thankful for the opportunity to have addressed the same for you when it was brought to our attention.

Our beds have a 10cm high mattress toppers which have foam & feather filling. Most guests love the comfortable nature of it as it usually yields a beautiful sleep experience. There are occasionally some guests like yourself who prefer a more firm bed. When this is brought to our attention, we are delighted to remove the soft bedding to ensure the best of sleep for our guests.

I can’t apologise enough for the incident which you brought to our attention in the room. Thankfully, this has not been evidenced by any of our guests since and we have taken the appropriate measures to ensure that the same does not reoccur. We thank you for your patience & hope that our gesture of goodwill went some way towards remedying the same.

Thanking you again for your feedback. In the event that you are staying with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly & I will be delighted to arrange some treats with my compliments.

Kind Regards

Elaina Fitzgerald Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Generally OK hotel. Little disappointed by the standard of the room. I know that some rooms were being renovated but not the one we stayed in. The lift was broken so 7 of us had to carry 7 heavy bags up the stairs. 2 of these were over 70 years old and 3 were children - No attempt at giving us a hand with the luggage. There was a wedding there at the time so could not find anywhere to park. The restaurant was either busy or understaffed, either way had to keep reminding the waitress about our orders. By the end when we waited about 20 minutes for our coffee we told them not to worry about it and just get our bill. Turns out they weren't even getting our coffee !! Had been looking forward to staying in this hotel for 12 months. Sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 000lisag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

You are correct in mentioning our renovations. We have been undergoing an extensive refurb programme over the last 18 months and are now at the bedroom stage.

We do not have a lift and never had so therefore I think this comment is left in error. Porterage is available on request, I apologise if you did not feel it was offered. The Reception team have been notified about this.

I do apologise for your experience in the restaurant. This standard of service is not the norm as you can see by all the positive reviews of our restaurant and staff. Your experience has been communicated to the restaurant staff so they are aware of it.

I do hope you reconsider visiting our hotel again. Please let me know if you do intent to stay again and I will endeavour to upgrade your room.

Yours Sincerely,
Elaina Fitzgerald
The Fitzgerald Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buninyong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 2 nights while on a driving holiday around Ireland. The staff were friendly and efficient, food excellent and our room well maintained and clean.The Hotel has a indoor pool,Jacuzzi, spa which is clean and well managed. a great base to stay to visit surrounding countryside and Towns. A pleasure to stay !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenniejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a positive review. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff, our excellent food and our leisure and spa facilities.

We hope you get the opportunity to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
9.1 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
10.7 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing