We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food choices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Limerick
1 review
“food choices”
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Dear David

Just a quick note to say a huge thanks for a great breakfast, you and your staff anticipated everyone’s tastes and needs, I was so impressed as I did not expect such a variety of choices, Berries and natural yogurt being my first choice, was a surprise, along with the juices, smoothies, and other food choices too many to mention.

Congratulations and very well done, but on reflection I guess it should not be that much of a surprise to me as my family and myself have made the woodlands our gathering place for family occasions over the years. Therefore I do not have to elaborate on the esteem we as a family and I hold for the Woodlands

Sincerely Yours,
Paschal Rowland

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    292
    102
    53
    31
See reviews for
507
423
17
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newry
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2009

i was looking 4 a hotel in adare looked at a few other hotels in adare but there were not very friendly. As soon as u walk in the hotel its very homely staff our lovely couldnt do enough for u. the first time we stayed was last november, we been back 3 our 4 times and have took family back with us. they very child friendly lots 4 them to do. My wedding is in february and david in the hotel is a great help to us, as im from armagh and my fiance is from kerry. he help us getting numbers for bands, video men, flowers, cars. We could as for more. by the way the spa is out of this world it's a must.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionnualat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

my husband and I stayed in your hotel Fitzgeralds Woodlands in October. we paid a rate of €130 for double room.

I was absolutely disgusted at the state of the room... there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, the grouting on the bathroom tiles was dirty, ceiling was black from mildew.
one of our bedside lockers had a broken lamp and contained a previous guest's spectalcle cleaning cloth!! the other bedside locker had a sticky drawer knob (as if from sticky sweets, I hope!) the seat of the chair at the dressing table was badly stained, so we couldn't sit on it. The bed itself seemed clean, we didn't get to it till early morning....

While I didn't complain when we booked in (we were rushing to a wedding), I did point out all this at the desk when settling the bill, and was disappointed that no effort was made to compensate in price.
The Manager subsequently made a "gesture" by refunding €27 to my credit card, (which I did not authorise him to do)....bringing it to the cost of a standard room...if this was a standard room I would hate to think what the others were likel

having stayed in a hotel in Kilkenny the previous weekend in a fabulous hotel, and having gone on to Kilarney on leaving the Woodlands and stayed in a very clean, fresh hotel room, at similar rates, I found the comparison just appalling!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dellabGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Limerick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I organised our mother's 91st birthday party to be held in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House and it was such a success with great credit to all involved in this professionally run establishment. Everything was meticulously organised by a very efficent and competent staff and management. The food was excellently prepared and presented and served with great efficiency and homely friendliness. Would recommend Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel to anyone. Even during recessionary times they are constantly busy and kept going.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat1Co_Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We had been assured a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room – I can only shudder at what a standard room might have afforded us.
We were attending a wedding weekend in Adare Manor from the Saturday to Monday, so we thought we would have a quiet bit of preparation in your Hotel. It was most disappointing.
The room was not cleaned properly – there was a stash of empty wine bottles in the wardrobe and paper debris behind the cushions on the couch. The bathroom was covered with mould and the vanity unit had paint chipped off it. The carpet was frayed and had become dangerously dislodged on an implausible step in the middle of the room. Many of the TV channels did not work. To cap it all off, we had drunks yeowling and banging on our door at 5.45am. A pervasive fusty smell capped the whole experience.
One positive – the breakfast in Timmy’s bistro was nice, as were the breakfast staff. However, when the stoker came to put a large log on the beautiful open fire, he swore audibly and copiously!
We paid €99 for this one-night visit – appalling when compared to others in our family who stayed in Collins’ B+B in the town for HALF that amount.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williewallace27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

The hotel is lovely, the food is exceptional. You gave us a beautiful room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My Husband and I visited this area for the first time, and our stay at the Woodland House Hotel exceed all our expectations.
The main hotel building, was very comfortable, with excellent restaurants and bar facilites, and the service was extreamly friendly and attentive. However, the Spa is a must ! Without doubt this has to be the best in Ireland and something not to be missed.
If you are looking for a relaxing, and pampered weekend, without having to spend an absolute fortune, this is the Hotel for you. We are looking forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
8.7 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel

Property: Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Address: Limerick Rd, Knockanes, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the beautifully, quaint village of Adare, Co. Limerick, the Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel in Limerick, is owned and managed by the Fitzgerald Family. As a member of Irish Country Hotels, it is part of the first hotel group to be received Guaranteed Irish membership. The hotel features the Fáilte Ireland Award Winning, Revas Spa, one of the most popular Spa Hotels in Limerick, and a fully equipped gym and leisure centre.The hotel is ideal for leisure breaks in Ireland, convenient for conference meetings and not to mention a stunning venue for your wedding. Join us and let our family look after yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Hotel
Fitzgeralds Woodlands Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing