We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Abbey Villa

Abbey Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Villa
Ranked #15 of 19 Adare B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We arrived late to Adare and were fortunate to find two rooms available at the Abbey Villa. Family room was taken but the owner gave us a deal on two rooms across the hall from each other. This really is a lovely B&B, well-decorated, bright and very clean. The location is ideal, only a minutes walk from the main town road with all the shops, restaurants and parks. Owner was polite and accomodating, breakfast was generous and delicious and the owner was again very hospitable the next day. Would highly recommend the Abbey Villa.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irishgerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2008

We had driven all day, we're exhausted, and entered Adare, Ireland. Hotel was too pricey, but they sent us to the Abbey Villa B&B down the road. Hostess was wonderful, rooms were perfect and breakfast delicious. Thank you for rescueing us!

1  Thank Mag121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Booked 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. On arrival discovered Frommer's adjective, "scenic," was totally wrong. Our front room overlooked a gravel parking lot next door to a petrol/convenience store. It was a noisy location, as was the Jordan's young son who was banging a toy on the reception desk after we arrived. Exhausted after a long drive we went to dinner to discuss our situation. After dinner we told Mrs. Jordan we wanted to cancel the 2nd night. She was very upset. Later my husband went out to call what he thought was the B&B Family Network & instead got Mrs. Jordan. He was not critical but just said our plans had changed. She said there would be no problem. We'd given our credit card, including the security code to make the reservation & thought the charge would be put through by Abbey Villa. When preparing to leave, her husband (dour, thin lipped, red faced) approached the car & rudely said "I'd like to be paid." My husband went w/ him to take care of this and after 4 attempts were made...ea. time printing a tape that indicated, "phone line busy or not connected," he paid in cash. When we returned home on the 22nd we found that the B&B Family Network charged us the same amt. so we thought the Jordans must have put through a charge for the canceled night. When we tried to clear this up Mr. Jordan via e-mail was verbally abusive, accusing us of having our credit cards rejected. He threatened posting worldwide on the net what horrible & rude people we were. (I had never interacted w/ him.) He has an extremely short fuse & is exceptionally ill-mannered. We will never take another trip without reviewing TripAdvisor. When I read the review by the fella from Dublin, that would have made me cancel immediately. We operated a B&B for 5 yrs. & never misrepresented our lodging nor treated anyone rudely, even when we thought they may have been wrong. Mr. Jordan needs to take an anger management course. Fortunately, the remainder of our two-week trip was filled with lovely, warm Irish folks who were welcoming & lovely so we're not left with a bad taste of Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank reginamarie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

I booked in for 2 days. My travel plans changed and I had to leave after the first night. I had to endure the owner calling me a "blaggard" for this. I paid for both nights to stop the aggression. Some people should not be in the hospitality industry. As an Irishman I pray that none of our overseas visitors get an impression of Ireland from an establishment like this. Not Recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank amxzcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, Australia
15
Reviewed 12 April 2006

I stayed in Abbeyvilla for 4 nights in january of this year and found it to be a really nice place to stay. The host and her family were all really nice to us and told us alot about the area and suggested places to go and things like that. The food was lovely. All in all i could not fault it. A pleasure. I plan to stay with them again in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
321
Reviewed 30 October 2005

We had the most insulting experience in all of Ireland at Abbey Villa. After a four-hour car drive through holiday traffic from Dingle to Adare, we arrived to find that the host had mistakenly booked a twin instead of a double room for us. I had called the day before and clearly stated our needs, which were confirmed in detail over the phone. Upon arrival, we were rudely greeted, and even though the host had an empty guesthouse, she was unwilling to change our room to the one we originally requested, without apology or explanation. This was clearly a misunderstanding but she gave us no choice but to leave in search for other last minute accommodation. To top it off, we were assured we would be charged the full amount for the twin room. Our last night in Ireland was reduced to a mad search for a room on a bank holiday weekend.


  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2003

This had to be one of the best places we stayed at in Ireland. The Jordan family are wonderful hosts, and their home is beautiful. We had the family room. which was huge, immaculate and very pretty (and en suite.) Their living room is large, warm and has satellite TV for those interested. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and Mrs. Jordan makes a mean French toast!! We had a great time with them, and the you really do get a great value here.

12  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adare hotels
1.1 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
0.0 mi away
Adare Country House
Adare Country House
#1 of 19 in Adare
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Lodge
Berkeley Lodge
#3 of 19 in Adare
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castleview House
Castleview House
#7 of 19 in Adare
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tir Conaill B&B
Tir Conaill B&B
#17 of 19 in Adare
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Villa

Address: Kildimo Rd, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Adare
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing