We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adare Franciscan Friary (1464)”

Old Franciscan Friary
Cochranville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adare Franciscan Friary (1464)”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This place absolutely blew me away. It is on the 15th hole at the Adare Manor Golf Resort. The grounds keeper mentioned it to us as a second thought. He said we have many castles and ruins over here "and we don't pay it much mind". Hard to believe.
Construction started 28 years before Columbus discovered...can you imagine. Most of the walls seem to be there but anything wood has long since decomposed back to soil and now supports the lush greenery that abounds the interior. The center courtyard is surrounded by a windowed hallway that frames a tree that has to be hundreds of years old. You can only imagine what a wonderful place this was to sit and meditate as it still awesome today.
This is a must see if you are in the area of Adare, stop at the visitors center in town for more information.
See my video at YouTube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YE2Y27i6XUM
Gor Google "Rich and Pat Travel The Adare Friary"
Mind the golfers, watch out for the golf balls...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had to see it on a tour from the visitors center”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very interesting but we could only view it from afar. We asked at the golf course to walk to it but were told we had to take the tour form the visitors center to view it. We were very disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easter sunrise service”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I have just returned from Ireland having spent Easter there at adare manor.i attended sunrise service at the Franciscan friary..even though the temperature was quite chilly I have never spent a better Easter service any where..it was quite an experience that I shall never forget

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating glimpse into the past!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

This Franciscan Friary is located right next to the 2nd fairway of the Adare Manor Golf Course. The roof is gone, but many of the walls are intact. This area is so peaceful and it is easy to imagine yourself transported back to the past! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank bobmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“great to see”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

good bit of history to get to see ireland is dripping with history nice to get to see it up close and personal

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank El H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Franciscan Friary also viewed

Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to Old Franciscan Friary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing