We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant afternoon tea”

The Carriage House Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 19 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant and Pub are inside the Club House. Fairly large restaurant, much cozier and quieter in the pub
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Brilliant afternoon tea”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Travelling down to Dingle we were in need of refreshment so decided to give the Adare Manor a try. They were fully booked but when we told them we'd travelled all the way from IOM they went out of their way to find us a seat in their beautiful restaurant/lounge. We were rewarded with one of the very best traditional afternoon teas we've ever had. Certainly on a par with the best London hotels. Cakes to die for (and get fat for). Great service . While €27 a head is not cheap, it was great value for a brilliant spread and we then had to skip dinner as we were so full! Definitely worth a detour but book in advance to be sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Watching Andy Murray Win”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I can't remember the date, but it was THAT day. Very family friendly and excellent food. Helped by a superb sunny day and being surrounded by a collection of vintage Bentleys that had turned up as part of their tour of Ireland. The food was very well prepared and the service was swift but relaxed. The manager (Vikram) was especially friendly to all the guests and really is a credit to the hotel. On hearing I might be interested in one of the properties on the estate, he promptly dispatched his bar man to give me a tour of the grounds in his car. By the time we returned, the ice cream had arrived. We walked up to the manor house to rub shoulders with all the Bentley drivers and then packed the Reliant Robin and drove up to Limerick. A great afternoon out, especially if you have toddlers that need to eat and run around as you enjoy a post-prandial nap under a copy of Country Life (or more likely, Hello! magazine).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthurlonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet and pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have eaten at the golf club a number of times and never been disappointed. Whether I am with a group of eight or alone, service and food have been excellent. Prices are reasonable considering the beautiful atmosphere. Desserts are terrific!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ORB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD, BAD SERVICE!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Food was nice and tasty, especially mussels (not like in other places). Good and pretty desserts. But service must be improved! Three service staff (two waiter and one waitress) couldn't properly service a table of 8 people! First - they couldn't find our reservation, then a lot of mistakes with orders, forget to bring a cocktails, coffee, tea…. Tea for 4 people was served in a HUGE METAL pot, probably tea for 8 could be in a bucket with a soup ladle. At the end we waited for a bill about 35-40 minutes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Always enjoy coming off the course for the experience of the food in the restaurant. Always find the atmosphere to be great and the food fab.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrick3539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carriage House Restaurant also viewed

 
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to The Carriage House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing