We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Lovely”
Review of Berkeley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berkeley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 19 Adare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Bridie Herlihy is a lovely and completely welcoming hostess, complementing her lovely B&B. Make it a point of sitting and chatting with her--you won't regret it. We ended our trip at her place and couldn't have been happier with our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Bridie was a wonderful host, the room was lovely, with a nice-sized bathroom and a pretty view of the garden. Beds were comfy, and the breakfast room and breakfast was lovely. The B&B is within walking distance of downtown and a beautiful town park, which is another plus!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChetLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife, son and I stayed at the Berkeley Lodge on Sunday, April 13th. Birdie was incredible. We just flew in to Dublin, drove to Adare and were exhausted. Birdie went out of her way to make our room available early. We were the only occupants that night and the next morning Birdie put out the full breakfast spread just for us. While the B&B is in a great location, walking distance to everything in Adare, it was the attentiveness that Birdie gave to us that will make us return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationFamilyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We found Berkeley Lodge accidentally when we decided to stop in Adare for the evening. The room was delightfully clean and comfortable and warm. Breakfast was most enjoyable and sumptuous. Bridie was the perfect hostess and really made us feel perfectly at home. We would be happy to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Adare is lovely and a great little respite after staying in Galway City for a couple of nights. We really enjoyed our stay at Berkeley Lodge. The breakfast was tasty, the room was comfy, and we slept well. Bridie was a good hostess and was warm and hospitable. She recommended a local restaurant when we arrived that turned out to be a nice break from the usual pub fare.

The few things that weren't the best was that there was a faint hint of cigarette smoke in our room...it wasn't overpowering or super strong, but we could all certainly smell it upon entering. And the rooms were very old fashioned and old-looking. Some of the fixtures looked like they were wonky and everything just had an old feel to it. it was still comfortable, though, and didn't really affect our stay.

I would recommend it as the overall stay was enjoyable and worry free!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We found this place quite by accident and can highly recommend it. The rooms and bathrooms were meticulously clean and Bridie was an excellent hostess. Breakfast was ample and delicious. If you are game I recommend trying the whiskey porridge - surprisingly good

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was in a party of 6 and we really wanted to see Adare and it's surroundings. We wanted to stay close to Adare center so that we can walk back after dinner and a pint in the nice Adare pubs.
Berkeley Lodge was a great choice. The rooms are very nice, it's close to Adare center (2 min walk), we were served great breakfast in the morning and the prices are great too.
Berkley Lodge is like a small charming hotel more then a B&B.
The only down side was that we couldn't stay longer.
I, and all my friends would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlankaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
7.0 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adare Country House
Adare Country House
#1 of 19 in Adare
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carrigane House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Castleview House
Castleview House
#7 of 19 in Adare
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Lodge

Address: Station Road, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Adare
Price Range: £72 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley Lodge is an award-winning, 4 star guesthouse situated in beautiful Adare Village, County Limerick. The owner/manager is Bridie Herlihy who has won many plaudits and industry awards for her commitment to the unique brand of Irish hospitality and service.The Lodge combines the comfort and luxury of a class hotel with the friendliness and local knowledge of a B&B owner who is passionate about tourism standards.There are six quaintly decorated guest rooms in total including single rooms, double rooms and family rooms. Consistently one of the top-reviewed accommodations on Tripadvisor, you will always be assured of a warm welcome at Berkeley Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Berkeley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing