We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hostess is very helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Berkeley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkeley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 23 Adare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Hostess is very helpful.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bridie is a super-hostess. In same street there are about 5 or 6 B&B,Iwas refered by a local lady to the best. I travel by Bus Eireann and the lodge is a short walk from the Adere.stop. The breakfast was one of the best if not the best out of all the B&B of the 7 I stayed in. The rooms are very lovely and clean. I plan to return and stay there soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AREQUIPENA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    32
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
90
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Bridie Herlihy is a lovely and completely welcoming hostess, complementing her lovely B&B. Make it a point of sitting and chatting with her--you won't regret it. We ended our trip at her place and couldn't have been happier with our experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Bridie was a wonderful host, the room was lovely, with a nice-sized bathroom and a pretty view of the garden. Beds were comfy, and the breakfast room and breakfast was lovely. The B&B is within walking distance of downtown and a beautiful town park, which is another plus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChetLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife, son and I stayed at the Berkeley Lodge on Sunday, April 13th. Birdie was incredible. We just flew in to Dublin, drove to Adare and were exhausted. Birdie went out of her way to make our room available early. We were the only occupants that night and the next morning Birdie put out the full breakfast spread just for us. While the B&B is in a great location, walking distance to everything in Adare, it was the attentiveness that Birdie gave to us that will make us return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationFamilyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We found Berkeley Lodge accidentally when we decided to stop in Adare for the evening. The room was delightfully clean and comfortable and warm. Breakfast was most enjoyable and sumptuous. Bridie was the perfect hostess and really made us feel perfectly at home. We would be happy to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Adare is lovely and a great little respite after staying in Galway City for a couple of nights. We really enjoyed our stay at Berkeley Lodge. The breakfast was tasty, the room was comfy, and we slept well. Bridie was a good hostess and was warm and hospitable. She recommended a local restaurant when we arrived that turned out to be a nice break from the usual pub fare.

The few things that weren't the best was that there was a faint hint of cigarette smoke in our room...it wasn't overpowering or super strong, but we could all certainly smell it upon entering. And the rooms were very old fashioned and old-looking. Some of the fixtures looked like they were wonky and everything just had an old feel to it. it was still comfortable, though, and didn't really affect our stay.

I would recommend it as the overall stay was enjoyable and worry free!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We found this place quite by accident and can highly recommend it. The rooms and bathrooms were meticulously clean and Bridie was an excellent hostess. Breakfast was ample and delicious. If you are game I recommend trying the whiskey porridge - surprisingly good

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.1 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
10.1 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
2,364 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rathkeale House Hotel
Rathkeale House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rathkeale
108 reviews
9.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Lodge

Property: Berkeley Lodge
Address: Station Road, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley Lodge is an award-winning, 4 star guesthouse situated in beautiful Adare Village, County Limerick. The owner/manager is Bridie Herlihy who has won many plaudits and industry awards for her commitment to the unique brand of Irish hospitality and service.The Lodge combines the comfort and luxury of a class hotel with the friendliness and local knowledge of a B&B owner who is passionate about tourism standards.There are six quaintly decorated guest rooms in total including single rooms, double rooms and family rooms. Consistently one of the top-reviewed accommodations on Tripadvisor, you will always be assured of a warm welcome at Berkeley Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Berkeley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing