We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better!”
Review of Berkeley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berkeley Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Adare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a beautiful town and a lovely overnight stop! Bridie was absolutely wonderful and such a cheerful hostess! The place was spotless and the location was very central. Her breakfast was absolutely wonderful - we could not have asked for more! I would recommend Berkeley Lodge to anyone! We were travelling as a family of 5 and the room was more than large enough to accommodate all of us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Not wanting to drive the entire distance from Dingle to Dublin in one day, my wife selected Berkeley Lodge in Adare as a place for us and our 2 friends to spend the night. We hadn't been to Adare before. The Lodge was perfect and our hostess, Bridie, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. When we checked in, we found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Bridie recommended "The Arches" for dinner and made our reservations for us there. It was mentioned to Bridie that it was my birthday, but she didn't tell us that she passed that info on to the staff at The Arches. After dinner (it was fabulous), Mary & John (owners?) came out with a small cake and sang Happy Birthday. And this after we shared birthday greetings and talk with another birthday party for an 80 year old local lady while there. Upon returning to the Lodge, Bridie had set out plates and forks so that we could share my birthday carrot cake with not only our group, but with 4 new friends we made while staying at the Lodge and whom we met up with at one of the local pubs after dinner. The conversation and shared fun were extraordinary! The breakfast prepared by Bridie was exceptional and was easily one of the best of any B&B we have stayed at. The next time we plan on traveling near central Ireland, we will make a special effort to stay at Bridie's Berkeley Lodge. It has become very special to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wiley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bridie is a super-hostess. In same street there are about 5 or 6 B&B,Iwas refered by a local lady to the best. I travel by Bus Eireann and the lodge is a short walk from the Adere.stop. The breakfast was one of the best if not the best out of all the B&B of the 7 I stayed in. The rooms are very lovely and clean. I plan to return and stay there soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AREQUIPENA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Bridie Herlihy is a lovely and completely welcoming hostess, complementing her lovely B&B. Make it a point of sitting and chatting with her--you won't regret it. We ended our trip at her place and couldn't have been happier with our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Bridie was a wonderful host, the room was lovely, with a nice-sized bathroom and a pretty view of the garden. Beds were comfy, and the breakfast room and breakfast was lovely. The B&B is within walking distance of downtown and a beautiful town park, which is another plus!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChetLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife, son and I stayed at the Berkeley Lodge on Sunday, April 13th. Birdie was incredible. We just flew in to Dublin, drove to Adare and were exhausted. Birdie went out of her way to make our room available early. We were the only occupants that night and the next morning Birdie put out the full breakfast spread just for us. While the B&B is in a great location, walking distance to everything in Adare, it was the attentiveness that Birdie gave to us that will make us return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationFamilyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We found Berkeley Lodge accidentally when we decided to stop in Adare for the evening. The room was delightfully clean and comfortable and warm. Breakfast was most enjoyable and sumptuous. Bridie was the perfect hostess and really made us feel perfectly at home. We would be happy to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.0 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
9.2 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,011 reviews
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
10.9 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Lodge

Address: Station Road, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Adare
Price Range: £69 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley Lodge is an award-winning, 4 star guesthouse situated in beautiful Adare Village, County Limerick. The owner/manager is Bridie Herlihy who has won many plaudits and industry awards for her commitment to the unique brand of Irish hospitality and service.The Lodge combines the comfort and luxury of a class hotel with the friendliness and local knowledge of a B&B owner who is passionate about tourism standards.There are six quaintly decorated guest rooms in total including single rooms, double rooms and family rooms. Consistently one of the top-reviewed accommodations on Tripadvisor, you will always be assured of a warm welcome at Berkeley Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Berkeley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Adare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing