We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Fanningstown Castle, historical vacation rental for you to enjoy in Adare, West of Irelandn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fanningstown Castle, historical vacation rental for you to enjoy in Adare, West of Irelandn
Entrance Hallway, whether going to living room, kitchen or bedrooms upstairs you will meet here Welcoming open fire, relaxed with family or friends, spend time relaxing in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Fanningstown Castle, historical vacation rental for you to enjoy in Adare, West of Irelandn
Entrance Hallway, whether going to living room, kitchen or bedrooms upstairs you will meet here
Welcoming open fire, relaxed with family or friends, spend time relaxing in the living room
Afternoon tea in front of open turf fire, what is more relaxing while away with your loved ones
Formal dining room for celebrating special occasions with family at your castle rental in Adare
Large country style kitchen with pine table for everyone to enjoy long lazy breakfasts together
Feeling spoilt at your self-catering castle, enjoy breakfast in the kitchen or on the patio
Side view of Fanningstown Castle, the old stone round tower dates from the 12th Century
Large enclosed patio leading from kitchen with gas grill & outdoor seating, watch kids having fu
Master bedroom at your Irish Castle, looks out over patio & garden, can also be 2 twin beds
King or 2 twin beds, lovely room over library with window seat to read at overlooking garden
Queen bed in soft shades of lemon with windows overlooking rolling dairy lands of the Golden Vale
Queen bed to front of castle, relax & take time to enjoy your special stay in Ireland
Twin beds or king bed, this room at top of castle on way up to tower, perfect if looking for quiet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Perry H
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
857 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Brought 4 couple's with me on this vacation a couple of years ago and rented this castle. Could not have been more happy and satisfied with the place, The rooms where amazing, especially the kings room. Plenty of room and fresh fruit was left for us and couple bottles of wine. Very clean and in the best of locations. I found the fee very reasonable and would highly recommend this castle for a perfect stay and enhanced Ireland experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californi...
Auburn, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a Family”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fanningstown Castle is awesome! It was perfect for our extended family for a week. They provided all sorts of breakfast breads, cereals, milk, juice, eggs, bacon and fresh fruit. The beds were comfortable. The castle was very neat and clean. The grounds are beautiful. We all enjoyed our time there. We enjoyed the patio for drinks in the evening, had great breakfasts and dinners in the kitchen. We purchased casseroles from the Adare Heritage Center that were delicious. We all enjoyed playing the games and visiting in the sitting room; and listening to our more talented family members play the piano in the music room/library. It was the highlight of our three week trip!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leemalanc...
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
“A little piece of Irish magic. Perfect setting for our Wedding, thankyou Mary and Dave”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Castle is grand from its front doors to its top turret, very well kept and its owners had it more than ready for our arrival. Much attention and care has been put into the details of each room. The bedrooms were all beautiful and spacious. Bathrooms were very clean and well stocked. In the kitchen, we all rubbed the sleep from our eyes and met the morning with hot breakfast, coffee, and laughter. The formal dining room so beautiful for an Irish feast with family and friends.The library, music abound and cocktails after dinner. The Sitting room (seating for at least 12) with peat on the fire simply magical - our favorite room in the castle. Plenty of parking beside and around the castle grounds. A laundry to clean and dry clothes, fully stocked. And the grounds were a perfect place for Wedding pictures and lawn games during our week. Thank you Mary and Dave and family for making our stay and Irish Wedding magical.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heilal201...
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and special”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our stay at Fanningstown was a highlight of our stay in Ireland! We had 5 kids and 5 adults and we all felt like royalty staying in our very own castle. Mary welcomed us with ample food supplies, great orientation to the ‘castle’, and bouquets of fresh flowers throughout! She was an incredible host, very personal and responsive to any questions or requests. The castle itself has ample room for everyone and was very clean. The beds were comfortable; the kitchen was complete and well stocked to cook and congregate in. Would highly recommend this property to others! Thanks for everything Mary!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheatfree...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful stay in the castle. Very cool experience. The rooms are lovely, my only caution would be the height of the tubs in the upstairs baths...a little high. We used the 1st floor bath with no issues. The rooms are big and so warm and inviting. We had someone in our group of 9 that could play the piano, this added to the experience in the Library room. Highly recommend. The spiral staricases were great, a little tough with luggage but well worth it. Can't say enough abour the experience.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cms62950
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Fanningstown Castle for friends and family...”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

While touring Ireland by car in 2009 we, by chance, discovered and fell in love with the village of Adare. We vowed to return for an extended stay and did so this past Spring, We booked Fanningstown Castle for a 3 week stay. It exceeded our expectations. We met the owner, Mary, at her home 2 km outside of Adare and followed her by car down a long unmarked lane surrounded by a farm to reach a very quiet castle. We knew immediately we made the right choice. Upon entering, we were greeted by fresh flowers in the rooms and a refrigerator stocked with breakfast basics and snacks. We had the castle to ourselves and our visiting friends from the US and Germany. The owners, John & Mary, were friendly and helpful but not intrusive as they lived 1 km from the castle, available by phone if needed and servicing the rooms as needed during the day while we were on day trips. We and our rotating group of friends enjoyed each night in front of the fireplace talking, laughing and toasting another great day in Ireland.

Craig & Donna Smith
York, PA / USA

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claranor
1 review
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What an amazing week we have had. The castle was a dream. We visited Ireland for a family wedding and Fanningstown could not have been more perfect of a home for our group. My daughters felt like real live princesses, I loved sipping tea on the back patio and cozying up in the window seats and everyone enjoyed breakfasting in the sunny kitchen and sipping Jameson, playing cards or reading by the living room fire late into the night. Mary and Dave were the most hospitable and attentive hosts--stocking the fridge, filling the wood supply, arranging fresh flowers and responding at a moments notice regarding any question. We felt like royalty. Real life will be difficult to return to after 9 days at the castle! I fear we've set the bar high for any future vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing