We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nothing short of Spectacular”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jaclyn B
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing short of Spectacular”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Fanningstown Castle is an extremely special place. We absolutely loved the interior and the garden grounds. It completely captures romantic, old time Ireland and was lovely to stay in. There was plenty of room to have more guests, but this time around, My husband and I used it as our special getaway and landing spot before getting marriend. Aside from the amazing accommodations, what also stood out as above and beyond, was the host, Mary. She was extremely helpful in assisting in our wedding plans and making sure our stay was perfect. She provided many different vendors and resources to make my overseas planning nearly a breeze. Once we arrived, she was so easy to get a hold of, provided us a beautiful food and fruit gift basket upon arrival, and she even helped us with special coordinations on our elopement day. She is a true gem that is selfless and wants to make sure your stay is lovely. Fanningstown Castle and Mary will forever be dear to our hearts. We hope to return one day.

Date of stay: January 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser75...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Christmas”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to stay at Fanningstown Castle over Christmas and what a wonderful time we had. There were nine of us in total including 2 children and the property easily accommodated us all.

The Christmas decorations were beautiful and made our week magical.

The castle was clean and well maintained with all the extras you could possibly need.

Mary the host was wonderful both with making the booking and during our stay. She was so accommodating with all our requests. We shipped over lots of things for our stay and Mary made it all so easy. She definitely made our week away over Christmas run smoothly, offering advise of local supplier etc all of this without being in the way.

The only downside I can think of was storage in the kitchen area, I have since highlighted this.

I would highly recommend Fanningstown Castle, the accommodation and Mary the host were fabulous. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maread C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely incredible wedding at Fanningstown castle!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where to even begin! The owner, Mary, is absolutely a gem to work with. We emailed her back and forth over 20 times in the months leading up to our stay as we planned our wedding at Fanningstown. She accommodated every request and gave wonderful recommendations for everyone involved in our day. On the day of the wedding, she showed up to set the table and make sure everything was going smoothly. The following day, she stopped by again to provide us with clean linens, tidy up the place and check in that we had everything we needed. One night, we sent her a message to ask if she could print us off some boarding passes for a flight for one of our group. We offered to pick it up the next morning, but she stopped by ten minutes later with the printed pages.
The castle itself is absolutely beautiful. 5 luxurious bedrooms, and 3 bathrooms over 3 floors. It has an updated kitchen for easy cooking. It is close enough to town, though you do need a rental car to get there (the roads are very narrow and not easily walk-able).
The castle was the perfect setting for our wedding. Since it was New Years Eve, we had the ceremony inside with our small group of people. It was extremely easy to plan with Mary's help. She recommended florists, caterers, photographers, and drivers. She was a huge part of what made our wedding successful! We had an absolutely perfect wedding at Fanningstown castle that we will remember forever!

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
625melani...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning Castle - great for groups!”
Reviewed 1 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We absolutely loved staying at Fanningstown Castle! We were a group of 8 friends and there was more than enough room for all of us (we could’ve brought 2 more)! Mary was fantastic and so helpful. She answered all of my questions and also helped me plan a catered meal in the home (Anne Lloyd Catering was great)! We had so much fun taking pictures in the library. The house is a great home base for many different excursions (Cliffs of Moher, Killarney, etc). I would highly recommend staying here. Mary, thank you so much for your hospitality!

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry H
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,291 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Brought 4 couple's with me on this vacation a couple of years ago and rented this castle. Could not have been more happy and satisfied with the place, The rooms where amazing, especially the kings room. Plenty of room and fresh fruit was left for us and couple bottles of wine. Very clean and in the best of locations. I found the fee very reasonable and would highly recommend this castle for a perfect stay and enhanced Ireland experience.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
californi...
Auburn, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a Family”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fanningstown Castle is awesome! It was perfect for our extended family for a week. They provided all sorts of breakfast breads, cereals, milk, juice, eggs, bacon and fresh fruit. The beds were comfortable. The castle was very neat and clean. The grounds are beautiful. We all enjoyed our time there. We enjoyed the patio for drinks in the evening, had great breakfasts and dinners in the kitchen. We purchased casseroles from the Adare Heritage Center that were delicious. We all enjoyed playing the games and visiting in the sitting room; and listening to our more talented family members play the piano in the music room/library. It was the highlight of our three week trip!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leemalanc...
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
“A little piece of Irish magic. Perfect setting for our Wedding, thankyou Mary and Dave”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Castle is grand from its front doors to its top turret, very well kept and its owners had it more than ready for our arrival. Much attention and care has been put into the details of each room. The bedrooms were all beautiful and spacious. Bathrooms were very clean and well stocked. In the kitchen, we all rubbed the sleep from our eyes and met the morning with hot breakfast, coffee, and laughter. The formal dining room so beautiful for an Irish feast with family and friends.The library, music abound and cocktails after dinner. The Sitting room (seating for at least 12) with peat on the fire simply magical - our favorite room in the castle. Plenty of parking beside and around the castle grounds. A laundry to clean and dry clothes, fully stocked. And the grounds were a perfect place for Wedding pictures and lawn games during our week. Thank you Mary and Dave and family for making our stay and Irish Wedding magical.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.