We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Adare”
Review of Coatesland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coatesland House
Ranked #2 of 19 Adare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Adare”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We are very late in writing this, but better late than never. We stayed at the Coatesland House last May and were totally charmed by Flo, Donal and Winnie. The rooms are impeccably clean, the company is priceless and the breakfast is epic. This B&B is not just worth stopping for a night, it is worth a detour and a few nights stay.
Bravo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
107
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mellieha, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We only stayed for 1 night while crossing from Galway down to Kerry but it only took us a few minutes to appreciate the great hospitality and friendliness of Flo and Donal. The room was spotless clean and equipped with every amenity you would need. Decor in rooms and the whole house was beautiful (especially the dining room) and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rv137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My third stay, and my second review of this outstanding B&B. Not much to add - still immaculately clean, well-equipped, fresh fruit in your room, nicely decorated, quiet, comfortable beds and convenient to everything in Adare. That said, Flo and Donal are still the real reasons to stay at Coatesland.

Two examples of their incredible hospitality:
1) Another couple staying at Coatesland had inadvertently left a sweater at a hotel in Limerick. Not wanting to drive back to Limerick, they had decided to just forget about it and continue their vacation. They had mentioned it in casual conversation with Flo and Donal. Flo, who had some business to take care of in Limerick, drove to the hotel and picked up the sweater for them. She surprised them with the sweater while we were in the lounge area enjoying an evening chat with Flo and Donal.
2) Our flight home departs Shannon at about 9 AM, so we must leave the B&B at 6:30 - well before their normal breakfast hours. When we came downstairs, Flo was awake, the coffee was hot, and delicious porridge (with cinnamon,honey and strawberries - yumm), fruit, and breakfast rolls were available. We had about 10 minutes to enjoy the breakfast and Flo's company, then drove to the airport.

You won't find better B&B hosts than Flo and Donal. They are genuine, people-loving people. We'll be staying at Coatesland house again, and we highly recommend it to anyone visiting Adare.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room with three beds and two bathrooms. Really nice to have the second bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigPyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillingham, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was one of the best B&B's my mom and I stayed at during our two week long road trip. Florence and Donal were the best of hosts. The rooms are clean and have the little extras that make you feel extra welcomed. We slept well despite the house being on a main street. Breakfast was plentiful and our hosts were very accommodating to any allergies. The flowers around the house were stunning and show the work of a true gardener who gardens with love. We enjoyed soaking in the flowers while playing fetch in the backyard with the dogs our hosts were dog sitting. I would definitely stay here again. Listen to Florence's travel advice! It was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This bed and breakfast is on a main street, but you would never know it. Their rooms were big and so were the bathrooms. Very clean and comfortable. We were very last minute, no reservations but got lucky. Breakfast was perfect! Would stay again! We were there in July 2011.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Have stayed with Florence and Donal many many times with my husband, but this past time visited as a widow. As usual, I found Coatesland House to be wonderfully inviting....the best oatmeal in the West of Ireland. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and had a great view...All the food was delicious. I always spend my first night in Ireland here..after landing in Shannon. Then it's off to Co. Clare.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizDuneVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had such a great time staying at Coatesland. Meeting Florence and Donal was great. We only stayed one night but Florence spent the next day at breakfast telling us all about going to Dallas, Texas, where I live. Her stories were so great. I was so happy to meet her. She has such a warm and loving spirit. Breakfast was a feast. It was only us two but they put out everything as if it was a full house. I had the porridge and it was yummy! The room and grounds were very nice as well. No one else was there that night so we got our choice of rooms. We chose the family room and had so much space. It had two bathrooms ensuite. It was great. I hope to come back one day. I truly felt so welcome here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.5 mi away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
7.6 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.6 mi away
Adare Country House
Adare Country House
#1 of 19 in Adare
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Lodge
Berkeley Lodge
#3 of 19 in Adare
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coatesland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coatesland House

Property: Coatesland House
Address: Killarney Rd., Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Adare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing