We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very charming and cosy and peaceful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Farmhouse exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Farmhouse exterior
well in yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Farmhouse exterior
well in yard
Queen bedroom
Master Bedroom with King bed and ensuite
Main Bathroom
Kitchen
Fire stove
Farmhouse exterior
View of countryside from house
The Orchard
Twin bedroom
Sittingroom with open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2016Kirsi
Lohja, Finland
1 review
“Very charming and cosy and peaceful place to stay!”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This kind of hospitality I have never seen before! Anne and Dan are the most helpful and friendly people, who took care of us during our one week holiday:) The facilities in the newly renovated house are top class. It was easy to make breakfast every morning, when all works properly. Coffee maker, dishwasher, washing machine, hair dryer, you name it.
All golf courses, where we played round about half an hour drive from here.
Here you can enjoy of beautiful country view and real helpful people!
Looking forward to visit this place again:) All the best Anne& Dan from your friends in Finland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Dear Kirsi, Thank you so much for your generous comments...It was a pleasure for us to welcome our first visitors from Finland and to spend time with such a lovely group..We do hope you visit again and look forward to that..Warm Regards, Daniel and Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and well appointed...”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had an absolutely lovely stay at this idyllic newly renovated 200 year old Irish farmhouse and can't wait to return. It has the charm of the old world with all of the most modern conveniences of today. The furnishings are new and yet they still maintain the classic feel of an old farm house, no musty smells here!

The Earlston Farmhouse is centrally located in South West Ireland and the hosts, Dan and Anne, were amazing in helping us manage our day trips around the adjacent counties. They are just the sweetest couple! Make sure not to miss Adare Manner which is only 7km away.

This is our second stay here, once with friends which was really fun (the house holds 3 couples without being on top of each other) and once just my husband and I... which was quite romantic. Who doesn't love a glass of wine in front of a romantic fire? Although we haven't brought children with us, I imagine that all the open outdoor space, and working farm animals would be a hit with the kids. My little girl (now all grown up) would have loved it.

A pleasant surprise is how well appointed the house is, the quality of the towels and bed linens is top notch. Having rented many homes in different countries, often this is where owners skimp, not at Earlson! Also, the kitchen has everything you'd want to cook a wonderful meal, all you'll need is groceries that you can grab up the road in Adare.

We highly recommend this location if you're looking for the perfect place to stay in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpful owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenniferk...
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Once in a lifetime experience at Earlson Farmhouse”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Dan and Anne were exceptionally helpful and genuine hosts. We felt well taken care of but they were not overbearing. Molly, the dog, was loving and sweet. The house is extremely comfortable with a mixture of history and modern conveniences. We loved the reading room and the fireplace. Playing ball in the garden and going on walks were enjoyable. The beds were one of the biggest assets. My husband and I and our two kids slept very well.

The house is a few miles from Croom or Adare so there is not a pub or store right around the corner but to us it was worth it. We didn't mind being a few miles away from those things because we were so comfortable and felt safe and at ease. We traveled to Cliffs of Moher, Kilarney National Park, Galway and Kenmare. We hope to come back to Earlson Farmhouse in the future. I teared up when I left the property and it's caring owners. Thank you so much for providing the space for an amazing and unforgettable family vacation to Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners, the beds, cleanliness, fireplace,
Liked least: narrow roads leading up to house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy1969...
Pleasant Grove, Utah
1 review
“The True Irish experience with genuine hospitality!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment we arrived, Dan and Anne were genuinely interested in our family and wanted to insure we had a great time. We felt safe and welcome on their Irish farm.

The house has been beautifully renovated and has all the necessities of home. Laundry facilities, WIFI, a fully functioning kitchen where we cooked breakfast and dinner each day. We were able to shop in nearby towns for all of our needs. The fireplace was so nice to sit in front of in the family room and enjoy a movie, after a long day full of adventures.

The biggest draw for us was the 3 bedroom and 3 bathroom setup. They are nicely situated upstairs with privacy. We spent 3 weeks in Scotland, England and then Ireland and these were by far the MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS we experienced on the entire trip.

We enjoyed going to Adare and eating at a traditional Pub "Pat Collins Pub" where we enjoyed a Gaelic Football game with the locals and also the very yummy food. We were able to go to The Cliffs of Moore, The ring of Kerry, The Gap of Dunloe and the Blarney Stone Castle near the city of Cork. Dan actually drove us up the mountain giving us a personal tour and history of the area and then we enjoyed an Irish sunset.

The irony of the trip was we were in the "Old Country" being hosted by a couple that felt like old friends! Thanks Dan and Anne for helping create a wonderful experience for our family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Beds were so comfortable!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeandsta...
Paris, France
1 review
“Earlson Farmhouse”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in November 2014

For a delightful respite from our busy, urban lives, we decided to rent the lovely Earlson Farmhouse in Kilmacanerla, a short distance from the picturesque village of Adare, Ireland.
Located on a small country road, we managed to find joy in this bucolic setting – tall hedges, panoramic views, rolling hills and farm life, a real working farm….cattle!
The beautifully restored house has a well appointed kitchen, dining room and living room, large enough for us to have friends over to visit and dine. We enjoy cooking! We shopped the markets in Adare and Limerick….
It was our intention to be on the road each day finding new adventures from this base, home early enough to still enjoy the perks of having a house while on vacation.

The bedrooms upstairs were comfortable and afforded privacy as we were traveling with another couple.

We were able to take walks along the road and enjoy the outside portion of the Farm. Eating outdoors was also a possibility.

The owners were our neighbors and concierge….and, they had many suggestions for our travels. A rental car is necessary at this location.

We will certainly return!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous & Cosy Country Retreat”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I normally don't write reviews but felt I had to after our wonderful holiday. My husband and I and my then 7 month old stayed here last July. We flew from London into Shannon and it was less than an hours drive from the airport. We wanted a break away from it all and it is exactly what we got. We totally relaxed and felt refreshed afterwards.

The house is situated in the beautiful Irish countryside and surrounded by farmland and greenery. There is a working farm nearby so my son got to see lots of the usual farm life. There are loads of walks and hikes that my husband and I enjoy so this was the ideal spot to stay. We just litterally walked out the front door of the house and off we went, no loading up the car or anything. There is a river nearby if one is into fishing which we aren't but I'm tempted to take up.
The house is only a short drive to the picturesque village of Adair which is in itself a beautiful spot but has shops and pubs for all the necessities you might need. Limerick City is also not far and its quite close to the west coast.

The farmhouse itself is lovely. Decorated to a very high standard and extremely spacious yet cozy. I could imagine myself coming back here in the winter and lighting the fire and snuggling down for the evening with a nice cup of coco feeling safe and warm.

The owners are exceptionallly nice and friendly people and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and to ensure that we had everything we needed especially for our little one. The house was spotlessly clean when we arrived and I consider myself quite fussy in this respect, especially when I had a little boy with me crawling on the floors.

I wouldn't hesitate to re-book this house and recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful rural retreat in a gorgeous part of Ireland.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EimearM1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with our children and au pair fabulous surroundings and amazing views ! Anne H and her husband so helpful, house is picture perfect will return in a heartbeat !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing