We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous People and Wonderful Places to Visit”

Wandesforde House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlecomer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wandesforde House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Castlecomer B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous People and Wonderful Places to Visit”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were seeking our ancestors in Castlecomer and were lucky enough to find this lovely family run guest house of Anna and Michael. The warmth of our reception coupled with wonderful food and accommodation made our stay brilliant. We were extremely grateful for all their advice on where to look and for the excellent contacts given who helped us. We had so many laughs! We stayed 4 nights which passed far too quickly but I am sure we will come back again. We were able to visit Dublin, Punchestown and Killkenny extremely easily and for those wanting to play golf the local course was absolutely wonderful, great value with very friendly members and the food was excellent / good value. Recommend you take a buggy as the course is quite long and hilly in places but you will love it. The local pubs were great for our Geordie banter and their brilliant craic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stumbled upon this great Guest House whilst on Business in Castlecomer, as we decided to stay over prior to returning home.
We were met by the Owner Anna, who showed us to our room, and swiftly provided us with hot drinks and home made scones.
The room was excellent as was the breakfast, all in all a great find and if in the area, one not to be missed...highly recommended and we will certainly stay there again...

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank critic10122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and two daughter's (age 9 & 7) absolutely love staying with this lovely sweet warm family. The breakfast was marvellous and even Anna (the proprietor) let our daughter's help in the making of homemade scones & marmalade! They even helped feed the chicken's & collect the egg's. Real Irish hospitality at it's best.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Castle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Wandesforde House for 3 nights whilst researching my wife's ancestors.
Even before we arrived I knew from the very helpful and friendly phone calls to and emails from Anna that we were going to enjoy our stay and made to feel very welcome & comfortable.
Both Anna and Michael were really accommodating and friendly and so helpful re places to go and people to see. Their beautiful home with an interesting history & set in over 2 acres, has been lovingly converted and tastefully furnished from its original function as a school house to a warm, comfortable, clean and spacious B&B. The en-suite bedrooms were clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts which were served in a beautifully and interestingly furnished dining room or in the large light and airy conservatory overlooking the free roaming hens and ducks on the well maintained lawn, were substantial and delicious especially the homemade bread. The breakfast were capable of sustaining you through till the evening.
Wandesforde House is about 5 minutes drive from Castlecomer and about 20 minutes drive from the attractions of Kilkenny, but is fairly central (within 30 minutes drive) to other nearby attractions such as the picturesque village of Inistioge, Jerpoint Abbey and the gardens of Woodstock. Whilst there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, Anna was able to suggest suitable eateries and would normally provide tea and cake later in the evening.
All in all a very relaxing, friendly and comfortable stay - so much so that we are already planning on returning early next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Enjoyed every minute of the stay at this B&B. Anna and Michael went out of thier way to make my family feel welcomed. Anna provided us tea upon arrival and Michael let my daughter go out back and play with the hens, ducks, and guineas. They even recommended a hotel and helped us a book a room next to the airport so we could turn in our rental car the night before our flight. Thanks to Michael for recommending the Japanese Gardens and Horse Farm in Kildare. I had not planned to see either and they were both great. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed the horses. The accomodations are first rate and the breakfast was extraordinary. We just left the country on the 5th of June and I wanted to get to this site and express my gratitude to Anna and Michael. I highly recommend you stay here if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ogh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Can't praise the B&B highly enough, thanks to Anne for the lovely welcome, and for getting up at dawn to provide us with a breakfast that would challenge the best of men to put away, such were the vast quantities of food provided - and all top notch. Will call again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickeydoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

A beautiful b&b, bedrooms are very tasteful with all comforts, the whole place is spotless and the breakfast delicious. Anna was very welcoming and accommodating. I was only staying for one night but would recommend and would return. I was really well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Discosparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlecomer
10.8 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Grange Manor Kilkenny
Grange Manor Kilkenny
#1 of 1 in Ballyragget
69 reviews
9.5 mi away
Glendine House
Glendine House
#21 of 73 in Kilkenny
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Twin Oaks Bed and Breakfast
#24 of 73 in Kilkenny
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damerstown Farmhouse B&B
Damerstown Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 2 in Castlecomer
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wandesforde House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wandesforde House B&B

Property: Wandesforde House B&B
Address: N78, Castlecomer, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Castlecomer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castlecomer
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing