We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreamly Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlecomer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wandesforde House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Castlecomer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had originally booked 12 nights stay at the Wandesforde B and B but only stayed 3 nights. Where was the "Anna" in all the other reviews on this site? We were greeted with "Oh your a bit early" when we arrived. When trying to accommodate Anna with breakfast times, because of her schedule we were told,
"You need to structure your life you can't be having breakfast at lunch time"
On another morning "Oh the dead have arisen "
On our last night at the hotel we were scolded like 5 year olds for taking food to our room.
This B and B is over priced for the location, 80 Euros for a couple, NO TV IN ROOM, NO TEA OR COFFEE IN ROOM. Go to Kilkenny City, its cheaper and you have all you need within walking distance. My choice NEWPARK HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Gillian Gain

Wandesforde House near Castlecomer in Kilkenny is simply all you could possibly want, when driving from Dublin to the south coast via Kilkenny. Anna & Michael McDonald have created a small paradise of a B&B, set in a wonderful garden with chickens wandering on the lawns. Anna's welcome was balm to tired travellers, and a cup of tea in her sun room followed by a comfortable bed was nothing short of heaven.
Breakfast next day boasted eggs from the hens or a full Irish, followed by home made hot scones. Anna never rests and a glass case full of her hand-sewn crafts is well worth a look, if you are wanting souvenirs to take home.
The dining room is huge and a former school hall but you'd never know that, as the attractive decorative style is a modern miracle. There are ground floor rooms for disabled travellers and excellent bathrooms en suite.
Please try this place even if you have to make a detour to stay there. Castlecomer Discovery Park is nearby and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were seeking our ancestors in Castlecomer and were lucky enough to find this lovely family run guest house of Anna and Michael. The warmth of our reception coupled with wonderful food and accommodation made our stay brilliant. We were extremely grateful for all their advice on where to look and for the excellent contacts given who helped us. We had so many laughs! We stayed 4 nights which passed far too quickly but I am sure we will come back again. We were able to visit Dublin, Punchestown and Killkenny extremely easily and for those wanting to play golf the local course was absolutely wonderful, great value with very friendly members and the food was excellent / good value. Recommend you take a buggy as the course is quite long and hilly in places but you will love it. The local pubs were great for our Geordie banter and their brilliant craic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stumbled upon this great Guest House whilst on Business in Castlecomer, as we decided to stay over prior to returning home.
We were met by the Owner Anna, who showed us to our room, and swiftly provided us with hot drinks and home made scones.
The room was excellent as was the breakfast, all in all a great find and if in the area, one not to be missed...highly recommended and we will certainly stay there again...

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank critic10122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and two daughter's (age 9 & 7) absolutely love staying with this lovely sweet warm family. The breakfast was marvellous and even Anna (the proprietor) let our daughter's help in the making of homemade scones & marmalade! They even helped feed the chicken's & collect the egg's. Real Irish hospitality at it's best.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Castle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Wandesforde House for 3 nights whilst researching my wife's ancestors.
Even before we arrived I knew from the very helpful and friendly phone calls to and emails from Anna that we were going to enjoy our stay and made to feel very welcome & comfortable.
Both Anna and Michael were really accommodating and friendly and so helpful re places to go and people to see. Their beautiful home with an interesting history & set in over 2 acres, has been lovingly converted and tastefully furnished from its original function as a school house to a warm, comfortable, clean and spacious B&B. The en-suite bedrooms were clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts which were served in a beautifully and interestingly furnished dining room or in the large light and airy conservatory overlooking the free roaming hens and ducks on the well maintained lawn, were substantial and delicious especially the homemade bread. The breakfast were capable of sustaining you through till the evening.
Wandesforde House is about 5 minutes drive from Castlecomer and about 20 minutes drive from the attractions of Kilkenny, but is fairly central (within 30 minutes drive) to other nearby attractions such as the picturesque village of Inistioge, Jerpoint Abbey and the gardens of Woodstock. Whilst there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, Anna was able to suggest suitable eateries and would normally provide tea and cake later in the evening.
All in all a very relaxing, friendly and comfortable stay - so much so that we are already planning on returning early next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Enjoyed every minute of the stay at this B&B. Anna and Michael went out of thier way to make my family feel welcomed. Anna provided us tea upon arrival and Michael let my daughter go out back and play with the hens, ducks, and guineas. They even recommended a hotel and helped us a book a room next to the airport so we could turn in our rental car the night before our flight. Thanks to Michael for recommending the Japanese Gardens and Horse Farm in Kildare. I had not planned to see either and they were both great. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed the horses. The accomodations are first rate and the breakfast was extraordinary. We just left the country on the 5th of June and I wanted to get to this site and express my gratitude to Anna and Michael. I highly recommend you stay here if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ogh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wandesforde House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wandesforde House B&B

Address: N78, Castlecomer, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Castlecomer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castlecomer
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing