We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our stay at the Connemara Country Lodge turned out to be the highlight of our trip to Ireland. Everything about this Guest House was first class. Starting with a very warm Irish greeting from Mary the proprietor - who incidentally speaks many languages - to the bright spacious and spotlessly clean bedrooms. Breakfast is a real treat with an extensive menu followed by Mary signing and playing violin. Irish hospitality at it's best!!!!!! Mary is most helpful and gave us lots of information on the surrounding areas so that we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Connemara. We can't wait to return to this beautiful Irish home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We toured the whole west coast of Ireland and stayed in 5 hotels and guesthouses.
Connemara Country Lodge was for sure the best.
The lodge is located on the periphery of Clifden and thus it's quite silent at night, but just a few minutes walk to the town centre.
The room was fondly furnished and clean, the beds really comfortable.
We took the irish breakfast and really enjoyed it.
But the real highlight was the hearty, warm welcome by Mary when we arrived. We instantly felt like home. Mary would do almost anything to make you feel comfortable.
But, even more, Mary sings some Irish songs every day after breakfast, and also plays the fiddle and flute.
Mary and her lovely daughter Olivia treated us like family members.
If you travel to Connemara, we only can strongly recommend this lodge and the unmatched hospitality of Mary and Olivia.
We say THANK YOU and hope to come back one time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a lovely part of the country, should have stayed longer. Really enjoyed Mary singing to us at breakfast time, how fortunate we were to hear some lovely Irish songs and hear the tin whistle being played so beautifully.
Everything about the lodge was fresh and clean, and free wifi in our room.
We would love to return sometime. Mary was a wonderfull hostess.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddhunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B&B is beautiful and our room was quite comfortable. The breakfasts here were the best we encountered in two weeks of breakfasts in Ireland--the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was excellent. The B&B is just on the edge of town, far enough from the bustling town to be quiet, but only a five-minute walk to town center, with several good restaurants and pubs within 10 minutes. Mary, the owner/hostess, is quite a character, very friendly and outgoing and quite helpful with local recommendations. She is also fluent in French and German and sings a song each morning for her guests at breakfast. We will stay here again and recommend it to our friends. All-Ireland fiddle champion Fergal Scahill playing each night at J.Conneely's was quite a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhfox95816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very very kind host!! She´ll do anything to make you feel comfortable.
Lovely breakfast with individual entertainment :-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haecki3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Connemara Country Lodge. The owner, Mary, was friendly, helpful and very funny. The room was large and the beds comfortable. At breakfast Mary played the fiddle and sang a couple of Irish ballads, definitely a first for us! Mary also gave us very good advice about where to eat dinner in Clifden and a great tip on where to hear some good music. We would go back to Connemara Country Lodge again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnArborAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Mary really does give you a warm Irish Welcome. Room & Breakfast were good. Best part was listening to Mary play & sing Irish Music while having breakfast. What a treat!
Would recommend a stay with her!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northvancouver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn to the West
The Inn to the West
#11 of 45 in Clifden
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £77 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing