We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Home Away From Home”
Review of Gannon's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gannon's B&B
Ranked #29 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Gannon B&B very much. Extremely comfortable beds, with every thing we could possibly need to make us feel truly at home. From the young woman at the Gannon's Sports Store who helped us check in, to the Gannon's Family themselves, as well as the woman who tended to our rooms and breakfast (which was very good by the way), every one made us feel welcome and comfortable. The location is ideal for exploring Clifden, we have stayed in Clifden 2 other times and this was by far the best accommodations we have found to date. There was a kitchen and living area that we were happy to make use of and a lovely fire that Gerry would get going every evening. We loved it here and am quite sure that you will too. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed at Gannon's for two nights in September 2012, and what a pleasant experience! Room 3 is large, immaculate, beautiful, and very comfortable. We arrived early but Gerry the owner welcomed us and let us go ahead and check in. Throughout our stay, he was the perfect host, and is one of the nicest, most gracious people we have dealt with on our three trips to Ireland - and that is saying something in a country where the people are as a rule so great to deal with! Staff is great, too, with no exception. The shower here was the best on our entire trip - great water pressure and temperature. As some reviewers have pointed out, the breakfast is more continental than Irish, but that was not a problem for us as we very much enjoyed the selection of cheeses, fresh scones, fruit, jams, etc. And the place settings/dishware were beautiful. The B&B is upstairs from Gerry's sport shop, right in the heart of the wonderful town of Clifden, so it was convenient to the pubs, shops, restaurants, etc. but at the same time was quiet and home-like. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Connemara!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Had an overnight stay here and found it very good value. TV / Dinner Room was lovely, and as there didn't seem to be many other guests we were able to relax here for a couple of hours.
Breakfast in the morning was a contential style buffet with plenty of all the usuals. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The only downside being a shared bathroom (which was immaculate) and no TV in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in the red room on Thurs 9th of August 2012. It is fab so modern, finished to a really high standard. Gerry the owner rang us to warn us that there was a horse/pony fair on in the town and that the town was very busy, very thoughtful of him. Gerry gave us directions and waited outside the B&B for us as we got parking on the street. If we could get parking just down from the B&B in the busiest time of the year then normally there should be no problem for people. The B&B is by the square and there is a sign on the side of Gannon's Sports shop so you can see that from the square. It is very secure in the B&B with a coded door at the entrance. There is a communal fully equipped kitchen which everyone can use. Breakfast was lovely the following morning, homemade scones and jam!! The kitchen is also part living room which everyone can use, would absolutely stay again we had prebooked our next night in Sligo otherwise we would definitely have stayed longer. We are thinking of going back again for the Horse show next year

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindyP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed in Clifden for 2 nights in Gannon's B&B and We were delighted with the genuine hospitality of Gerry and his family. Excellent standard of accommodation and great breakfast, cereals, soda bread, jams, yogurt and a selection of cheese and cold meats. We look forward to staying here on our next trip to the beautiful Connemara.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixiedoggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Clifden is a tiny, charming little town close to the sea and Gannon's B&B adds much to that charm. It's a family run business. The outside of the building isn't so captivating, and you actually check in at the sports clothing shop on the ground floor.

But the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the modern and chic bathrooms are extremely nice, 4-5 star hotel quality with excellent water pressure.

We felt very welcome there and when I made a mistake of booking one night when I meant to book two, the proprietors made absolutely no fuss about working it out so we could stay. They almost made it seem my mistake was their fault, which made me feel even more ridiculous for my error.

Breakfast was continental in nature. Brownbread, cereals, fruit, sliced cured meats, cheeses, and the most delicious yogurt will ever have in your life. Enough to get you up and going to start you day.

It's exactly the kind of experience you want from a B&B in a small town, you feel like you are welcome guests in someone's home and it's a very nice, relaxed, cozy feeling. We even bought four new jackets at the sporting goods shop they also own. They had really nice jackets! Loved this place!

I just saw that another reviewer said they visited the sweets jar many tims in the living room. Glad to know we weren't the only ones. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattletoamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

First time staying in Clifden but definetly won't be our last!! This B & B was ideal. Centrally located yet quiet at night. The room was a good size, comfy bed and good shower-what more could you want? Breakfast was nice & light which suited us, but if your a fan of a full Irish you're out of luck here. On offer was cereal, fruit, pancakes, scones, and a selection of cheeses & cold
meats. Seemed on par with other B & B's in the area price wise. Staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about sites to see in the area. Overall a big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#12 of 45 in Clifden
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Creeve House
#9 of 16 in Clifden
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Clifden Bay Hostel
#7 of 16 in Clifden
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
West of Ireland Holiday Homes
0.1 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gannon's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gannon's B&B

Address: Main Street | The Square, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gannon's B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gannon's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing