We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden bargain.”
Review of The Arch B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arch B&B
Ranked #27 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Arived in Clifden in the middle of the annual Pony Festival and was told by one B&B owner I wouldn't have a chance of getting a room. However, I spotted the Arch's sign and walked down the alley into a quiet courtyard and knocked the door. Asked for a room and got one at a bargain 35€. The room wouldn't win any decor awards but it was clean enough as was the en suite. The tea/coffee facility was a bonus and is something you don't always find even at a lot more money. Its central location means you can walk to all that Clifden has to offer but, because it's set off the main drag, you don't get the noise - a perfect combination. Breakfast next morning was way better than I thought it would be for the money. All-in-all, a bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for The Arch B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

The B&B is located on the high street of this great little village. There are many pubs and restaurants in the high street to eat in. Whilst the B&B is on the high street, the rooms are away from the street and it is very quiet overnight. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the full Irish breakfast in the morning is super! A great base to explore the area from.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White_T_Shirt_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

stayed here twice now, and better this time than last.
lovely clean en suite rooms. hairdryer, tv, tea coffee making facilities,
nothing to much trouble, very nice hard working people,
good full irish breakfast. well worth a stay.
this small hotel is a gem down a small alleyway, hidden from the road, it's is a wonderful place to stay.

clifden it self is a lovely small village, but very pricey, the pubs and restaurants charge very high prices, you are 50 miles away from galway city so they have you captive. i think unless they drop prices people will stop going there and they will go broke.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Location great, right in the middle of town. Overall just a bit shabby, holes in carpet on stairs, dirty mugs in bedroom, dusty surfaces. On the plus side, the bed was clean and relatively comfortable, bathroom was clean, shower was ok, nothing to write home about. Breakfast finished at 9.30am, which I consider very early for a B&B. Paid 61.20 Euro for a double room per night as a "special rate" on Expedia but I think you can and should get a room for cheaper here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nsteldub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We were very disappointed on arrival to the extent that we considered not staying but were afraid we would still be charged. This is a very basic guesthouse at a high price. 50 euro per double room would have been more appropriate. The shower pressure was pathetic. Be careful at chech out, they converted my bill to my own currency without asking which added another 3.5% to an already too high bill.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FishermanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Considering this hotel had only opened 10 days prior to our visit, which itself was on the busy weekend of Connemarathon, we couldn't believe how smoothly everything went. Dev, the manager, gave a friendly welcome, the room and bath were fine, the place is right on the main street, the breakfast was excellent and the price was right at E70 per night. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandSNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: b & b geschikt voor mobiele mensen, geen lift aanwezig.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank miko505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Dun Ri Guesthouse
Dun Ri Guesthouse
#12 of 45 in Clifden
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Creeve House
#8 of 16 in Clifden
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Atlantic Coast Hotel
The Atlantic Coast Hotel
#26 of 45 in Clifden
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn to the West
The Inn to the West
#11 of 45 in Clifden
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch B&B

Address: Market Street, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arch B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Arch B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing