We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Meal”

Mitchell's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

we spent a week on holidays in Connemara and eat twice at Mitchells. Food service and attention to detail excellent both times. Lots of places to eat in Clifden but Mitchells is out on its own!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    283
    82
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome Easter lunch!
Fantastic fish, wonderful oysters, exquisite desserts!!!!
A place that u cannot miss!

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark9BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Came here with my family for dinner and it was very good. We all ordered seafood (obviously) and it was fresh and delicious. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The service was not great though and the waiters could learn a thing or two about hospitality. It's also a bit pricey. But I'm glad we went as the food was great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulianaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice seafood dinner in Clifden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I decided to go for dinner at Mitchell's based on the good reviews. I had no booking and just walked in to see if they had table. Getting a table for one in a busy restaurant can be hard sometimes but it was no issue at Mitchell's. The staff was friendly and the food was very nice. I really enjoyed my seafood chowder, which was rich and full of yummy seafood. Yes, the place is busy and can seem crowded but I can't fault my dinning experience there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRN_192382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile



We dined there last night and were very disappointed.

The mussels and fish were very fresh but they were served in far too much butter and the vegetables were soggy and overcooked. The cold salad was better quality.

The service was by two burly men who served in a charmless, abrupt and perfunctory manner.

Our table was upstairs which lacked atmosphere and was near the clearing area for plates and glasses, with all the noise that that activity generates.

We are regular users of trip advisor but this is the first time we have been motivated to contribute a review. We felt this restaurant was overpriced and over rated for the standard of food, service and setting that we received.


Helpful?
3 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing