We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 3 days in Connemarra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sharamore House B&B
Ranked #8 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The room was very comfortable, there was no trouble having a single, the breakfasts were terrific (many options and plenty of fruit and yoghurt offered). We were welcomed and given good advice on walking. Sue and John obviously know Connemarra well as walkers and fishers and can give first hand advice.While staying here we especially enjoyed dinner at Paddy Coynes pub in Tully Cross. Also Olivers pub in Cleggan - it was nicer to get out to a pub than dinner in Clifden.

Room Tip: We had exceptionally hot weather and the room near the front door was cooler than the ones upstairs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterberry_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed Connemara and your stay with us. The Connemara mountains are wonderful and the walk up Benlettery which you did is one of the best even in an official "heat wave"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Departing Ballyvaughan we paused at the picturesque seaside village of Kinvarra, home of 11th century Dunguarie Castle, before passing through Galway to Oughterard and on to Clifden, another village rated amongst Irelands prettiest. Sharamore House our home for that evening is a few kilometres north of the town, overlooking the inlet from the ocean; the view of which we enjoyed from our room. Sue made us feel welcome and gave us important advice about Clifden; its one way street setup, eating venues and a recommendation that we travel the Sky Road around the inlet. At the Town Square, with dozens of people enjoying the sun outside one of the many pubs, we discovered a jewellery shop which all ladies should put on their ‘must visit’ list; O’Dalaigh Jewellers, in High St. A couple of items from their ‘Ripples in the Sand’ range accompanied us back home. The return to our B&B was via Sky Road and it is recommended for all; but take care as it is very narrow in places. John conducts fishing trips so when I saw fish on the breakfast menu, there was no hesitation in ordering it. It was scrumptious. The combination of Clifden and Sharamore House is a must for travellers along the west coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EA1509TC1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your nice review! You did lots in your short stay with us and glad you enjoyed the fish.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We loved the place. Extremely well maintained and lovely bedrooms. The breakfast was excellent as well. Thank you Sue & John for your lovely hospitality. We regretted that we were there for only one day this time. Hopefully be back for a longer stay later.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avijit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Connemara is beautiful and Sharamore House was the perfect spot to stay; It is located just outside of Clifden, an ideal town to visit for music and food, but best to stay out on the country a few miles. Our hosts Sue and John had great advice on where to visit, particularly the best music in town. Breakfast was perfect, the rooms and beds just right, and great views to the bay,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwaynep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I booked a weekend here for myself and my dad for his 60th as the B and B also runs sea fishing days out. John and Sue are the owners and could not have been more friendlier or helpful. John especially as due to the weather we were unsure of being able to get out fishing but he got us out and got a good day of fishing. Really cant recommend them enough as we'll be coming back later in the year

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinyter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Best breakfast on our 10 dass Trip ! Sue is a perfect host and her knowledge in every Topic concerning the place is amazing. WE loved being there. The from Sue recommended Trip to Inishbofin was Great!!!!
Magny greetings to the whole Brittain Family from the two German girls.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our 10 days roundtrip. The room was fantastic with comfortable beds and a direct view at the sea. Sue and her husband have been the best hosts we have had on the entire trip. The breakfast was excellent (I am still dreaming of the the delicious pancakes :-) )! Thank you very much Sue for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.7 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharamore House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharamore House B&B

Address: Streamstown, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £74 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharamore House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet location with beautiful views of surrounding Connemara and the sea, the 4-star Sharamore House is just 5 minutes’ drive from Clifden. Fish caught from the Sharamore's own boat is served at breakfast.Full Irish breakfasts are served each day, and the breakfast menu includes homemade pancakes with fresh fruit, smoked salmon, and Irish cheese. A log burning range and wide-screen satellite TV feature in the lounge area.Maps detailing the numerous nearby scenic walks are available, and guests can enjoy pony trekking within a 5-minute drive of Sharamore House. Roundstone beach can also be reached in 20 minutes by car, and Connemara National Park is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sharamore House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing