We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sharamore House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Clifden Station House(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
US$443
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$390
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$51
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
173
43
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
43
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakesenjoyed our night staysea fishingbreakfast offeringssmoked salmongracious hospitalityscenic drivesky roadour room was spaciouskipperskylemore abbeybreakfast was amazingvery pleasant staybeautiful areaclose to townwarm welcomefull irish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Sharamore House is an outstanding place to stay. John and Sue Brittain, owners/operators, are real quality people. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting with them and their family.

This is a great location for exploring the beautiful Connemara area. Hiking Omney Island, the National Park, Innishbofin, and visiting Kylemore Abbey are all musts. John and Sue were great at providing information, maps and advice for our daily adventure. The town of Clifden is delightful and only a few minutes away. Marconi's and Guys are great places to eat, and make sure you stop in and see Shane at Ferguson Fine Wines.

Let me set the record straight. The breakfasts are awesome. These folks can cook, and the ingredients are top cabin. Our room was clean, bright and overlooked Streamstown Bay.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else if I were visiting the Connemara area.

I do have 2 regrets: 1)Not having Sue's pancackes until the last day, and 2) Not booking a day of fishing with John.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duke07701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review. It's great to get encouragement like that from our guests and we are really glad you had a nice time with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The room was very comfortable, there was no trouble having a single, the breakfasts were terrific (many options and plenty of fruit and yoghurt offered). We were welcomed and given good advice on walking. Sue and John obviously know Connemarra well as walkers and fishers and can give first hand advice.While staying here we especially enjoyed dinner at Paddy Coynes pub in Tully Cross. Also Olivers pub in Cleggan - it was nicer to get out to a pub than dinner in Clifden.

Room Tip: We had exceptionally hot weather and the room near the front door was cooler than the ones upstairs,
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterberry_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed Connemara and your stay with us. The Connemara mountains are wonderful and the walk up Benlettery which you did is one of the best even in an official "heat wave"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Departing Ballyvaughan we paused at the picturesque seaside village of Kinvarra, home of 11th century Dunguarie Castle, before passing through Galway to Oughterard and on to Clifden, another village rated amongst Irelands prettiest. Sharamore House our home for that evening is a few kilometres north of the town, overlooking the inlet from the ocean; the view of which we enjoyed from our room. Sue made us feel welcome and gave us important advice about Clifden; its one way street setup, eating venues and a recommendation that we travel the Sky Road around the inlet. At the Town Square, with dozens of people enjoying the sun outside one of the many pubs, we discovered a jewellery shop which all ladies should put on their ‘must visit’ list; O’Dalaigh Jewellers, in High St. A couple of items from their ‘Ripples in the Sand’ range accompanied us back home. The return to our B&B was via Sky Road and it is recommended for all; but take care as it is very narrow in places. John conducts fishing trips so when I saw fish on the breakfast menu, there was no hesitation in ordering it. It was scrumptious. The combination of Clifden and Sharamore House is a must for travellers along the west coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EA1509TC1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for your nice review! You did lots in your short stay with us and glad you enjoyed the fish.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We loved the place. Extremely well maintained and lovely bedrooms. The breakfast was excellent as well. Thank you Sue & John for your lovely hospitality. We regretted that we were there for only one day this time. Hopefully be back for a longer stay later.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avijit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Connemara is beautiful and Sharamore House was the perfect spot to stay; It is located just outside of Clifden, an ideal town to visit for music and food, but best to stay out on the country a few miles. Our hosts Sue and John had great advice on where to visit, particularly the best music in town. Breakfast was perfect, the rooms and beds just right, and great views to the bay,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwaynep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews