We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic B&B, great location for day trips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sharamore House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharamore House B&B
Ranked #7 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic B&B, great location for day trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

All the basics covered...Friendly owners, very good breakfasts, basic but comfortable room...clean sheets, quiet area. Only saw the dog when we were leaving-never heard a peep from him or the rest of the family for that matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopethishelpsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    34
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
103
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Me and the GF stayed for one night. The B&B is in a great location; perched next to the sea, located right next to the end of the Sky Road, and Clifden is just a 10 min drive away. The house itself is beautiful decorated and our room was spacious with a large (incredibly comfy) bed. There was a great choice for breakfast, and my choice -- a poached egg, home caught/smoked cod, and spinach -- was better than the majority of the hotels I've stayed at. The owner, Sue, was very pleasant and was more than happy to help us sort out a Taxi and recommend places to eat. All in all, I literally have nothing to fault with this place. If I'm out the Connemara way again, I will definitely be returning

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you want to experience Irish Bed & Breakfast at its best this is the place to stay.
From the warm welcome to comfortable beds and superb breakfast Sharamore House has it all.
If you want to take a days sea angling then John is the perfect Skipper.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay with Sue and John and definitely would return.
Tom & Mary McGann

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Sue and John were great host, they provided helpful travel tips and dedicated us a lot of time to make us feel at home. Our bedroom had a beautiful look and breakfast was excellent, best pancakes in Ireland and the luxury of eating fish personally fished by Jhn and smoked by them. Recommended with no reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teuton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Sharamore House is a wonderful place to stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it. Sue is a welcoming host and sorted out our evening meal at a local restaurant and was extremely helpful with all aspects of local amenities. We met guests who have returned yearly for approx. 20 yrs and it is easy to say why. The Sharamore is an ideal base from which to explore the delights of the Connemara countryside and if you do not mind losing your breakfast with a day out with John on the Blue Water (fishing boat) it is an experience not to be missed. John is a very knowledgeable skipper who ensured that everyone went away with a memorable catch.

Room Tip: Lovely sea view room with marvellous shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaLenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We loved the Sharamore House B & B. Sue and John Brittain -owners are so helpful. John is a well known fisherman ......and he can take you out......be sure and check out his wall of catches. Sue helped us identify the best restaraunts in Clifden, side trips, even called taxis for us. Wonderful breakfasts.....smoked salmon - I couldn't get enough. Connemara is a beautiful area.......and Sue and John are wonderful hosts. Our room overlooked the sea......very peaceful.
Thanks Sue & John!
Bill & Lynda, Dallas, TX

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
thanks bill and lynda and we hope the rest of your irish holiday was a success
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Very friendly hosts who have all the information you need on the local area. Great food. A good sized bedroom and shower room. I wouldn't hesitate to book in here again. Clifden only a short drive away for evening meals. Check out the beach café at the very end of Beach Road - excellent quality food at a highly reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharamore, Owner at Sharamore House B&B, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Clifden Station House
3.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharamore House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharamore House B&B

Property: Sharamore House B&B
Address: Streamstown, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharamore House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet location with beautiful views of surrounding Connemara and the sea, the 4-star Sharamore House is just 5 minutes’ drive from Clifden. Fish caught from the Sharamore's own boat is served at breakfast.Full Irish breakfasts are served each day, and the breakfast menu includes homemade pancakes with fresh fruit, smoked salmon, and Irish cheese. A log burning range and wide-screen satellite TV feature in the lounge area.Maps detailing the numerous nearby scenic walks are available, and guests can enjoy pony trekking within a 5-minute drive of Sharamore House. Roundstone beach can also be reached in 20 minutes by car, and Connemara National Park is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sharamore House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing