We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant even without pizza”
Review of Guys Bar & Snug

Guys Bar & Snug
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Guys Bar and snog is one of the oldest establishments in Clifden, serving a wide range of local dishes daily until 9pm. Evening traditional music sessions throughout the season. Late night music on Thurs/Fri and Sat. A selection of wines by the glass.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant even without pizza”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The name, Guys Bar & Snug, may not do justice to this restaurant. The dining room is comfortable and roomy; its appointments are not posh but better than average. The menu was enticing, and the food was well prepared and well served. The dining room was short-staffed on the night we were there, and the lone server worked hard to take care of all tables and minimize waits. He received a good tip. Locals recommended the pizza, but we did not order it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lamblf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    295
    53
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good bar food”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

went in for early dinner late lunch. Most tables full but service quick and prompt and friendly.. My husbands fish and chips were lovely a light, I had mussels and was glad I ordered chips as there was no bread to soak up juice. Like most places the children's portions were an absolute waste, so big.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jayn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Pizza-Different”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had a supper here of pizza- I had sausage on mine, It was Irish Sausage and not Italian style. I really like Irish Sausage but not on pizza. Otherwise the pizza was very good, very large for a single serving and I would order again, I would leave the sausage off.
Go you will like it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I popped in for an early dinner and were pleasantly surprised We shared a very good calamari starter and I had pasta with spinach and mushrooms and he had fish and chips. Both were very satisfying and filling. Service was very good and we had wonderful live Irish music to accompany our meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top class food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

During our weeks stay in Clifden we managed to eat at Guys three times !!!!. On all occasions the food and service was fantastic. Great location on one of the main streets - it does get very busy though

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceri05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guys Bar & Snug also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Guys Bar & Snug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing