We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay, beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coastguard Station
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at the Coastguard Station for a few days before and after the Connemarathon. It was perfect. The location is ideal: close enough to the town and yet on a beautiful and quiet road. I highly recommend taking a drive up and down the Sky Road just for the sights!

The cottage itself was excellent. Tommy provided us with the necessities for the fire place, the kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were comfortable. The view at the back of the cottage over the bay was amazing.

Tommy was an excellent host and very helpful. Will definitely go back and can highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are searching for a wonderful place to stay in the west of Ireland, this is the place. Whether taking in the views (after all the coastguards needed to have a good view) or enjoying a snug evening in front of an open fire, you will not be disappointed.
The restorer/owner tommy wheel an is a gentlemen and is on hand to chat and give advice on the things to do and see!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roland c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The Coastguard Station was tastefully renovated into 8 apartments about 10 years ago by the current owner, Tommy Whalen. Our apt. had a sitting room, full kitchen , sunroom, 2 bedrooms and bath upstairs. The view is fabulous at the junction of upper and lower Sky Rd. The town of Clifden is about a ten minute drive and the Connemara area has alot to offer in the way of sightseeing, hiking, cycling, sailing. After traveling around Ireland for seven weeks, it was one of our favorite places. Tommy is a great host and is always available and helpful to answer any questions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tripcontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCeline91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coastguard Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coastguard Station

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing