We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for tea/coffee and scones”

Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House
Ranked #4 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Clifden
Restaurant details
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place for tea/coffee and scones”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Four of my friends and I stopped in Clifden and decided to have tea and scones. We had to reorganise the tables to allow five to sit at one table, and the staff were very accommodating. We ordered tea and scones all round. The scones were heated and delicious. The toilets were clean.
We only had a snack, so cannot comment on meals, but it started to get busy. Unfortunately, we finished off the scones, so the coffee house must have been busy all day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    16
    11
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Food and Hospitality”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having had a few nice meals around Connemara , we visited Clifden and chose this nice looking little bistro to eat in. The Lamb stew was really tasty with fresh tender lamb pieces and nice fresh veg and potatoes. Also a nice fillet of cod in beer batter went down a treat , Great selection of home made desserts. Very friendly staff and pleasing decor too. Highly recommended and very good value for money, We will definately be back. Thanks for a lovely meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eoghan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Lasagne in Ireland - possibly ever”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Popped into Cullen's Bistro for lunch today 15/08/2013.
Ordered Lasagne at cost of €12.90 - expensive, so expected a great meal. Sadly I was very disappointed - Lasange was very small (2"x2"x2" cube) - top was doughy, absolutely flavourless/tasteless, with very little meat - bottom was burnt and hard. I could not cut the bottom base, so left it! Two thirds of the plate was piled with fries (chips).
Spoke to a young waiter before leaving, and explained that my Lasange was burnt and not great, and suggested that this item be removed from the Menu!
Needless to say, I will not be returning and certainly wouldn't recommend this Bistro to others! Cullens is in a great position in the centre of the town, and and is probably visited by many passing tourists - I just hope that they don't experience what I did today?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland Derry City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stopped for lunch”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Over priced for the food we got, lasagne was homemade very small portion it tasted like stew, the burgers were frozen heated up. The place needed a uplift Iooks inviting from the street, friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KatrinaMcLoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingly, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Dessert”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stopped at Cullen's for dinner. My daughter had lasagne & I had Irish beef stew. Both were very good, but my daughter's portion was not big & mine could have fed at least two people. The best part was dessert - the rhubarb pie was delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing