We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy spot, good food”

Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House
Ranked #4 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Clifden
Cuisines: Irish, European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Cozy spot, good food”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Located right in town, this place had a great sounding menu posted outside, with reasonable prices. It was very good food. It's small, but cozy, and the four in our group all enjoyed good food. The waitress brought each of us a slice of whiskey cake, which really only came with one meal, and that was a nice surprise (tasty too!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kalberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    16
    11
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Clifden Surprise”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stopped here almost by accident when we were walking around the village of Clifden. When we stopped in we looked at all of the wonderful baked goods in the pastry case we just had to try
something. To our surprise this unasuming place on the main street had fabulous deserts and coffees. Each time we were in town we would stop and try their soups, lunch dishes or deserts.
Now I have read the reviews of some reviewers who had a terrible time with the older woman
who owns the place (with someone else) and I could even see how she could be quite prickly if
not approached with respect. We had no problems with her or any of the small staff who seemed
very eager to please and were always helpful. The food was really always excellent, fresh and
well prepared and the deserts were especially good. I think Cullen's may have been the victim of
some overly demanding tourists when they were more used to the laid back attitudes of western
Ireland from their clientele. Stop there when in town and you decide. It is really a treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Early meal”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Small cafe. Arrived at 6:15 but dinner wasn't served until 6:30. Ordered the lasagna from the early bird menu. It is not red-sauce lasagna and is small. Must be an original recipe; one that shouldn't be shared. I can't recommend the restaurant as it was just ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place for tea/coffee and scones”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Four of my friends and I stopped in Clifden and decided to have tea and scones. We had to reorganise the tables to allow five to sit at one table, and the staff were very accommodating. We ordered tea and scones all round. The scones were heated and delicious. The toilets were clean.
We only had a snack, so cannot comment on meals, but it started to get busy. Unfortunately, we finished off the scones, so the coffee house must have been busy all day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Food and Hospitality”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having had a few nice meals around Connemara , we visited Clifden and chose this nice looking little bistro to eat in. The Lamb stew was really tasty with fresh tender lamb pieces and nice fresh veg and potatoes. Also a nice fillet of cod in beer batter went down a treat , Great selection of home made desserts. Very friendly staff and pleasing decor too. Highly recommended and very good value for money, We will definately be back. Thanks for a lovely meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eoghan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Cullen's Bistro & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing