We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around good”
Review of E.J. Kings

E.J. Kings
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Clifden
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“All around good”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great time here. Service was attentive; food was really delicious; and the atmosphere was great. Lively with local and tourists alike. Perfect location in town. The downstairs bar seems more casual than the restaurant upstairs; but same food and just as good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mydayjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear mydayjob,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the staff attentive, food delicious and ambiance nice.

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    245
    74
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great restaurant! ”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Outstanding food,friendly staff and lovely atmosphere highly recommenned, at great prices! !!and its right in the middle of the town

Helpful?
Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear mydayjob,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the staff attentive, food delicious and ambiance nice.

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great starter!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate in the upstairs restaurant and I opted for the Goats cheese tartlet for a starter which was absolutely delicious and so well presented.
I had the Irish stew for my main which was unfortunately awful. First impressions was that there was far too much, a huge bowl brimming with meat and veg. It's good if you're starving but I wasn't and found it a bit overwhelming. The problem was though the lamb. It was as if the off-cuts had been put into the pan and the good bits had gone into the bin by mistake! Very fatty and gristly. I complained and the staff were extremely apologetic and as I had eaten some veg and was quite full I didn't want anything else so they didn't charge me for it. The service was good and very friendly and the restaurant is very nice, it's a shame about the stew

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear SMD 1966,
Thank you so much for your recent review. My sincerest apologies about the Irish stew, we are disappointed you did not enjoy it. We are delighted however you enjoyed your starter and found the service and staff to be friendly.
All you comments have been taken on board and every effort will be made to rectify the issues you encountered on your visit with us.
I hope this does not deter you from returning to EJ Kings in the future.
Kind Regards,
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good menu for a pub. Live bands and fun atmosphere. They pour a great glass of Guinness! We had a great time

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great restaurant upstairs”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent meal for two here in the top floor restaurant. Think 2 dishes was about 25 and 3 course meal around 27. I had very tasty crab starter, perfectly boned, filleted and cooked sea bass and black pudding mash, my partner had feta salad and tomato linguini. We followed up with raspberry roulade and creme brûlée.
With 3 drinks along with this and extra supplements of around 6e for the sea bass and crab it was great value.
It would be 4 stars only for 2 reasons - the seating was quite cramped (I'm 5"11 and partner 5"9 and average build and it was a little tight getting in and out!) and also the the creme brûlée was firm at the top but the dish was deep and the custard had not totally set and the base was quite runny consistency. Excellent friendly and knowledgeable service and all in all though I would recommend it and will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna F, Public Relations Manager at E.J. Kings, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Jason M,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and that you were happy with the price. I am disappointed you did not enjoy the Creme Brulee. You comments have been takes on board and every effort will be made to rectify the issues you encountered with regard to the crème brulee and the spacing of the seating in the restaurant.
We are very happy you found our team here to be friendly and knowledgeable.
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Joanna Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed E.J. Kings also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to E.J. Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing