We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”
Review of Clifden Glen

Clifden Glen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifden Glen
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hi,

I am amazed at the three previous reviews regarding Clifden Glen, we stayed in a wonderful three bed with two showers all working with power.....central heating sky TV and barbecue on the decking totally handy having the clubhouse to go for a few beers while the kids played on the green and played a game of tennis....just goes to show you that beauty is in the eye of the beholder and based on individual perception...I am going back next August and got a 20% early booking discount.

The mattresses were the business I had a look for my home sealy.....happy days

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinAudrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Clifden Glen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed in 72 Clifden Glen for a week in July 2012. While the location and outdoor facilities were very good, we were extremely disappointed with the condition of the house itself. The problems we encountered ranged from a multitude of minor issues such as no TV reception, being unable to use both showers simultaneously, doors that wouldn’t close etc. to a few major safety issues such as unsafe electrics and water running down the bedroom wall during heavy rain. When we tried to get problems rectified, neither the site manager nor the booking company would take responsibility. The owner of the house was completely un-interested in dealing with our complaint and was rudely dismissive of us in her correspondence with the booking company. We would highly recommend finding somewhere else to stay other than 72 Clifden Glen.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank EssDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

i read the other review on here about this place and hoped they were wrong - they were not. the development was deserted, the cottage we stayed in was dated, cluttered and in bad condition and not worth a fraction of the cost. unless you are totally certain about the actual property run a mile. if we'd been able to afford to move to a hotel we would have

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at Clifden Glen / Clifden Cottages via GoIreland in July 2010. It was like staying in budget Irish accommodation from 20+ years ago. We had a three bedroom cottage but would never stay there again. The place was expensive, very basic, had poor service, pay as you go for the electric, limited hot water, filthy carpets, no towel or toilet roll holders, uncomfortable beds, dribbling showers, rip off prices for laundry. Heater in the coldest bedroom in the house wasn't working - when I asked if this could be looked at they told me there wasn't much they could do about it. No one turned up to even look at the problem or offer an alternative. A gardener trimmed the hedge outside the cottage while we were there but left all the clippings on the pathway from our car space to the front door. The manager was a nice lady but I'm sure has no qualifications in tourism. She was also the laundress and the painter - in fact had the same painting clothes on the whole time we were there. We paid for our electricity at the end plus our laundry fees but no receipt was given. This was an extra E50 on top of our accommodation costs for 2 nights! The place has a good kids playground if you have little children, but when my 10 year old son wanted to play on the mini-Golf course with his Dad only one very dodgy putter could be found. I've travelled all over the world and don't expect five star treatment unless I pay for it but this place was the worst we stayed in Ireland, England and Europe in recent years. Having previously enjoyed our stay elsewhere in Clifden a few years ago we were very disappointed in Clifden Glen. The area is rugged but beautiful and the local seafood rates with the best in the world; the oysters and lobster were fantastic. Enjoy your time in Connemara but giive Clifden Glen / Clifden Cottages a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TravelwithkidsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sofy85100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mélodia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.0 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 16 in Clifden
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mannin Lodge B&B
Mannin Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Ballyconneely
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Glen

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing