We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We booked for 5 nights, but as soon as we arrived, we knew that we wanted to stay a lot longer. It not only met our expectations..but exceeded them. We had the perfect seaview pitch with beautiful views across the beaches, and with the grassy dunes around us it was also really private. We got the feeling of "wild camping" + though facilities on site were small they were constantly clean. We had lots of long walks + games on the beach. On the days we were lucky enough to catch some fish we barbequed them for our dinner! What a life! And then there's the campsite owner Kris...you couldnt find a more helpful + hospitable guy. Nothing was too much trouble. It is without a doubt the best campsite we have ever stayed in, + we will definitely go back..

Chris ....Randalstown

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuala U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    39
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
132
166
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Wah, what a spot. The views are stunning, the site, though fairly large has a limited number of pitches so everyone has plenty of space & the facilities clean & tidy. Being so close to the beach means a dip in the sea is only yards away from your tent. Kris & family are just lovely & very helpful. A perfect retreat from reality for those of us not fortunate enough to live there!
Could possibly do with another shower but it's not a major problem! Could do with a pot washing sink

Helen, Cumbria

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuam, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Exactly what you want from a wild natural campsite and more. Some reviewers though positive suggest little adjustments and improvements but I think it's perfect exactly as it is. You can't expect a "wild camping" experience to have his and hers showers, or you can't expect the owner to have to amend signs to suit people who can't figure out for themselves what to do with their chemical waste. From the first time I visited, the owner Kris was completely down to earth and helped us out wherever he could. A friendly relaxed owner makes for a friendly relaxed camping experience. Then you walk to the beach which could typify more the beautiful coves and bays of west galway. With the dunes of marram grass (learnt that name while there) surrounding every pitch and the uncompromising refusal of Kris to over book the campsite, a wild camping feel will be assured. Clean and humble toilets and shower with comforting and sometimes convenient noise covering music also add to your relaxation. Great snorkeling or diving, from seaweed cover rocks sheltering various species of fish to clear spots of sand speckled with sea urchins and patrolled by the occasional dogfish. The first time I went in 2010 the fishing was almost too good, after 10mins we had 7 mackerel and had no need to keep going. This will vary depending on the time of year. However on the rear shore lug worm are plentiful so the patient bait-fisher will have his needs satisfied. The surrounding area is beautiful with many places and nature walks to find. Though we found no desire to leave the site as it had all we wanted. Delicious filtered water on tap which I can only describe as liquid air (use your volvic or evian to do the washing up and refill the bottles with this. To sum up, it has all you need if you want that wild experience with a little extra comfort and friendly face to greet you. For kids it's as safe and secure as your own backyard (assuming your backyard is very safe and secure. I wish i had this place all to myself but then Kris would make only about 100 quid a year and I wouldn't want that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is the 4th year in a row we’ve been to Acton’s Eco Beach Campsite Clifden– need I say more – well I’m going to.
This site spoils you for many others; never mind the scenery, you are camping on sandy soil which grows marram grass and wildflowers but not rainwater puddles. It’s never Wellie time here, the water drains through and comes back as some of the sweetest drinking water I’ve ever tasted.
Look out to sea and you can see Omey and the other islands, turn around and the
backdrop is the Twelve Bens – think Snowdonia.

The site encompasses a white sandy beach which has clear water ideal for mask and snorkel. If you want surfing there is a beach on the other side of Clifden.

My wife would like it known she snores, and so you should stay away. However, given the distances between plots it will only be me who will hear & snore along too
Roll on our 5th!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The beaches here are brill plus a really nice pub which is walkable. Kris just needs to put up a few more signs about where to put grey water and empty chemical toilets etc. We found people washing up direct out of the fresh water tap!
If you want a 'green' site you really need to sell a green toilet product!
Be really nice when there are separate showers etc

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We visited this campsite 16 Aug - booked for 1 week. However, due to an almighty storm we had to cut our journey short as our tent was flattened - Not the site's fault, however, it is something to take into consideration when booking - The Connemara coast is know for its inclement weather and strong winds - Don't go if your Tent can't stand up to wind.

The 3 days we did spend there were fantastic though. Our spot was fantastic, not crowded at all. What everyone writes on here is true. We were just gutted our trip was cut short. the first 2 days the weather was glorious and we just sat around, fishing, reading and chilling out and therefore didn't get to see any of the surrounding area. A trip into Clifden for some shopping a visit to the Pub was all we managed to do - Which was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly12499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I'm not a fan of campsites (much prefer wild camping) but wanted to explore some of Connemara so stayed at Acton's for 5 days. I chose the place as I was looking for a blend of facilities without the usual crowds, noise, drinking etc that you can find on a lot of campsites. This place exceeded my expectations and I am so glad I went.
The location could not be better. It is located where an estuary meets the sea in stunning surroundings. The ground is dry and the low density ethos means that there was no noise or overcrowding. The facilities are basic (toilets, a shower, clean water) but very clean and functional.
The owners are just brilliant. They are friendly without being intrusive and are genuinely committed to making sure your stay is as good as possible. I was there during a storm (the aftermath of Hurricane Katia) and my tent could not handle the wind. They stepped in and helped me out much to their credit!
For walkers/hikers it is a great base close to the Connemara National Park and a multitude of hills. Omey Island itself is only a short walk from the site. Clifden is only 15 minutes by car with it's restaurants and pubs if that is your thing. It would be great for kids I'm sure with it's own little beach, plenty of space, and safety, oh, and a very friendly dog.
I'm trying to think of any downside to this site but honestly cannot. For wild camping with facilities in a great spot with friendly owners, I cannot recommend this place enough. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
6.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
272 reviews
5.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
342 reviews
17.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park

Property: Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
Address: Claddaghduff Road, Wild Atlantic Way | Clifden Connemara Co, Galway, Clifden WAW, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clifden's unique ecological natura campsite is Ireland's first Climate Neutral ecoCampsite, nestled amongst the sand dunes on the western fringe of Connemara, Co. Galway. It boasts beautiful panoramic Atlantic seascape views from its own secluded private beach. Here a true natura camping experience awaits. Ecological & spacious on eight hectares of coastal Machair habitat bio-diversity that interconnects the wonderful West Connacht Coast SAC, a Special Area of Conservation for Bottle-nosed Dolphins. Ideally situated on the shores of the 'Wild Atlantic Way'. Just ten minutes from Clifden town & two minutes from the small scenic village of Claddaghduff between the beautiful Atlantic ocean & the majestic Twelve Bens mountain range that forms part of the 'Connemara National Park'. Only a short distance away, it features fantastic designated trekking routes. Here one can gain a unique understanding of Irish bogs & the ecosystems they support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing