We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place”

Connemara Championship Golf Links
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 27 Hole Championship Links course on the west coast of Ireland, number 1 course in Galway. Beautiful elevated greens and amazing views of the 12 Bens Mountain range and the Atlantic Ocean from almost every hole. Facilities include Putting Green, Practise Range, Club Hire, Buggy (Cart) Hire, Trolleys, Golf Lessons, Caddy, Full Bar & Restaurant, Free Wi-Fi, Showers & changing facilities & Proshop. Open all year round, membership available, visitors welcome.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I played on quite a lot golfcourses but personally this is one of my favorites. Great open links course. 27 holes of pure pleasure. A and B rounds are really great. C round is difficult and not always rewarding or forgiving. So when you come to play all 27, start with C and finish with AB.
There are challenges, height differences, wind and tough rough. But the surroundings are incredible ans breathtaking. We had wonderful wheather, the course will be more challenging when it will rain..
Hope to come back some day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rbrtbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“April 28 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

First time playing golf in Ireland, what a place to start. played the B course then the C. my wife joined me at the turn after she rode a pony on the beach.. We rented a cart, basically had the place to our self's (it was a Monday). Staff was great lunch was good and the Guinness was cold. I will bring my clubs next time. http://youtu.be/EMHcxok5frw

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MattnLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaghan,ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The jewel of the west of Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a little secret - the course should be packed with people - but surprisingly quite - beautiful scenerie and lovely staff - great course and club house - well worth a visit - I have played it several time and never fails to impress me

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank keyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Links Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I returned for another 2 great days of links golf with the same group in May, staying as usual in the Abbeyglen. Weather didn’t look promising but, apart from occasional light drizzle, the worst we had to contend with was the stiff Atlantic breeze.

The first nine, being quite open and flat, is a lot easier than the back nine, which is more hilly. But even on the first nine, you need to be on top of your game to score well, particularly on holes that are upwind or side to wind. The back nine is a lot more challenging, particularly the long index 1 12th with its elevated green, the 200 yard par 3 13th (which demanded driver into the wind) and the long par 5 14th where the green is located on an elevated outcrop that runs diagonally to the fairway. The green on 15 is also elevated with only a narrow entrance cutting through long marram grass. To finish, the 17th and 18th are back to back par 5s, both with highly elevated and sloping greens.

Yes, a challenge indeed – but a worthy test of golfing skills with magnificent sea and mountain views that you won’t find on many more expensive courses.

I’m already looking forward to my next visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great classic links course!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This course does not have the amazing views but if you want a classic links golf experience - this is it! The course is a way from most things so it was quieter than other we played in Ireland. The staff are excellent and very friendly!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connemara Championship Golf Links also viewed

 

Been to Connemara Championship Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing