We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect accomodation in a super location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
amcdonuts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect accomodation in a super location”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Benbaun House. It is a fabulous, spacious house in a lovely setting, just a short stroll from the town centre of Clifden. It was a perfect base for sight-seeing and visiting the nearby beaches. The owner was most hospitable and welcoming. We'll definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location - so close to restaurants and bars, yet nice and private
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPS111
Maitland, NSW Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a large family reunion”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at Benbaun house with up to 23 people staying at any one time. We had a gathering for family from many parts of the world and this house met almost all our needs.The home was clean spacious and in a great location. we were only minutes walk from the town centre with many pubs and restaurants to choose from. Even though it is located on the main road to Wesport, noise was not a problem. It is a short stroll into town.

Each room had a clean (perhaps a bit on the small side) ensuite .The showers were a bit tricky to work out for those of us not from ireland but once we got past this they were fine. There were also extra bathrooms.

The kitchen while spacious, lacked enough bench space for such a large group. We addressed this by brining in a table from another room. Items which would have made catering for a large group easier were mugs, large baking dishes, wine glasses (there were only 7), good sharp knives and another fridge (there was only one). The dining room was a great size and were we spent most of our time in the house.

While the laundry seemed well equiped only one of the washing machines and driers worked. We worked around this but it was a bit difficult. A drying rack of some sort in the boiler room would have been great, I personally used this room by hanging clothes over chairs, they dried really quickly.

My one dissapointment was the playground. The picture on the website does not reflect the actual area. The swing set is located on gravel and was quite dangerous for my young grandson. There is no large grassed area that is suitable for childern to play on.

Overall a great experience. I would recommend this guest house for a gathering such as ours and would definately come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkandSu...
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in a great location.”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We needed a big house for our annual get together of friends as we all have an ever expanding brood of children. All in all we needed a house for 16 adults and 11 children. We thought this would be an impossible task until we found Benbaun House. This seemed to be the perfect house for our needs but you never know what a place will be like until you arrive. This house truly exceeded all our expectations. The photos on the website do not do justice to the sheer size and facilities in the house. The house was a former B&B which is now being let as a self-catering facility. We booked for a week over St. Patricks weekend. We had numerous phonecalls and emails with Brendan, the owner, before we arrived and he could not have been more helpful. He ensured everything we requested was in place before we arrived. On arrival he was there to meet us and was so friendly and welcoming. He gave us a very comprehensive tour of the house. As a former B&B everything is on a big scale. All 12 rooms are en suite, there was a huge dining room with all plates and cutlery set up for us. The kitchen had two dishwashers, which was very handy considering the size of the group. There was a toy room, fully stocked with toys, which all the children loved. The back garden has swings and slides and a barbeque, which we didn't use because of the weather. There was even a gym!! The house is located about a 3 minute walk from Clifden on the Westport road. It is in an ideal location for exploring the beautifully rugged Connemara. Clifden has numerous supermarkets and pubs. Brendan recommended Mitchell's restaurant which was gorgeous and specialises in seafood. All in all we could not have been more pleased that we chose Benbaun house for our stay. We will definitely be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities in the house.
Liked least: Clifden is very far away!!
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utate
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Betreuung durch Hausbesitzer - vortrefflich!!! Geschmackvolle Einrichtung + tolle Atmosphäre des Hauses
Liked least: Midges (kleine Mücken , die nicht stechen aber nerven)
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$4,644
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing