We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House, Wonderful Experience”

Review of Sunnybank House

View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room Drawing room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room
Drawing room with open fire
Main hallway
Stairs leading to the first floor and 8 upstairs bedrooms
Library Room with integrated computer desk
Television room
Television Room
Dining Room- with 15ft Antique dining table which can seat 20
Kitchen- 6 ring hob- 3 ovens - 2 dishwashers- Ice machine
Kitchen pantry and utility room - with american fridge and freezer
Ensuite bathroom - Room 8
Pool and Sauna at dusk
Table and chairs outside back kitchen door near giant Weber bbq and herb bank
Gateway to Sunnybank House
Steps down onto Church Hill - 2 mins walk to the town square. 3 mins to private leisure centre
Driveway from the front door
Side gates, Tennis court and Car park from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
11 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Faeriemou...
Starnberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from our stay at Sunnybank house with a large family/friend group. What a perfect find! It really is all it says it is on the website and more. A very large house with accommodations for all but doesn't lose it's character with size. Felt just like we were at our grandparents Irish home. Classic décor, thick comfy couches and turf fires going in the sitting rooms. But also all the modern amenities you could ask for, heated pool, wifi, modern kitchen with enough cooking space to feed our big group of over 20, plus BBQ just outside the door. Heated pool and sauna with picnic tables around. We were lucky enough to have great weather to enjoy sitting by the pool at the end of the day. We picked Clifden and Connemara because we knew there was lots to do for all ages. Our group ranged in age from 2 to 78 years old and everyone was happy. The house is up the hill, so away from most of the noise of the town but just a quick walk down to all the pubs, shops, music, grocery etc you need for the week. Driving distance to beaches, National Park, hikes, sites, etc. Really the perfect spot to get the true flavor of Ireland, hear the language and music. So wonderful. Best of all the owner, Shane, is wonderfully accommodating and friendly, with the cook Gillian describing him as an 'angel'! Living just next door he was available whenever we needed something and we all went down to his pub, Guy's Bar, for the best beef and Guinness stew in town. Don't hesitate to stay here, there really are 11 beautiful en suite bedrooms and room for all. We've traveled extensively in Europe but we all agreed Sunnybank House was going to be 'hard to top'! Thanks Shane!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noraintod...
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A large great place to stay in Clifden, Ireland....West Coast of Connamara”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family of 14, 3 generations from 70's to teens spent a wonderful week in this very large house. It has I think 11 bedrooms, each en suite bath so we spread out and many of the young ones had their first own bedroom.. Sunnybank House is spacious, clean, well and comfortably furnished, TV's, Wi-Fi, charmingly aged and well maintained with a fantastic kitchen and fireplaces. The tennis court and heated pool were a smash hit. Shane O Grady, the owner, also owns Guy's Bar and Pub which is one of many pubs with music within easy walking distance. We had a catered fantastic final evening feast done by Doirin Hickey who presented a menu of 9 starters,11 Mains and 6 Desserts. We picked 2 in each category and all were excellent. Paula of Connemara Rentals will provide all help, coaching and crisp efficiency from making payments to sorting out the TV clicker that met many young active fingers. Expensive but well worth it! Plenty of parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Connemara has a fine range of activities...hiking, bikes, castles, national parks.
Liked least: Roads can be narrow, particularly when meeting a bus,really exciting though.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedaler...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location and facilities for a large group”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We recently stayed at Sunnybank House for work related reasons while doing filming and photography in the Connemara area. The house is very homely and well appointed with plenty of space both internally and externally. All eleven en-suite rooms are very comfortable and clean. The kitchen, utility room and dining room are excellent offering loads of space. We availed of the caterer recommended by Shane of Sunnybank House and we were blown away by Doirin who provided superb home-cooked meals for the team. We would highly recommend this for corporate use, however we could equally see that it would be an excellent venue for family occasions or groups doing excursions/golf in the area. The 5 minute walk into Clifden town centre and nearest shop/pub was also very convenient. Having Shane so close by with such great contacts and local knowledge was also a great asset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience, space and comfort
Liked least: shower power a little on the weak side
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina L
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing home from home for an extended family”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed in Sunnybank House for a long weekend. Our extended family came together to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. Ages varied from 3 to 85. This house provided the perfect venue to relax at home and to explore the area. Connemara in the autumn is at its most beautiful with all the heathers blooming red and ochre. We were able to get in some wonderful walks. Dogs bay and it's surrounds gave us a chance to stretch our legs on the Sunday and cosy pubs and restaurants provided wonderful food. The house itself was wonderfully well equipped for catering for a large number of people and the massive dining table allowed for great family evenings together. The house was large enough that everyone could find quiet space when they needed it. Wonderful and memorable holiday. And Shane was a great host who really cared that everything was perfect in the house when we arrived. Warm fires, perfect lighting and kitchen treats. Even the kitchen radio was playing when we arrived to give the place a homely feel. Settling in time.... 5 minutes :-)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances F
1 review
“Truly a wonderful place to experience the Irish hospitality and a bit of something for everyone”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I were lucky to be invited by dear friends to share a special birthday with their family and friends and there were enough bedrooms and baths, with hot water, for 16 people most nights. Shane O'Grady a most attentive and personalbe owner who by the way had a great pub-Guy's- in the center of town which was a five minute walk from the house.
We enjoyed wonderful meals prepared by Dorin Hickey and one helper.
And very nearby we had a fabulous clam bake at the Boardwalk Cafe where we enjoyed platters of shellfish, shrimp, several varieties of fish, all dependent on what was caught that day so all very fresh, salad, corn, etc. etc. And, we were a crowd of probably 20! Right in the harbor so overlooking the sea and boats and a beautiful sunset.
Easy ride to Galway, Kylemore Abby, golf, historic sight of Alcott & Brown landing, and places my husband and I did not do but some of our group did, such as horseback riding, swimming in the ocean and hiking.
I would recommend this to anyone for a wonderful Irish experience.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and attentiveness of Shane O'Grady (proprietor) and outstanding meals prepred by Dorin Hickey.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne F
Watertown, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect choice for a large group”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Having often searched over the years for houses to accommodate an extended family, Sunnybank House is at the top of my list. The location is ideal, just steps down the hill from the lovely town of Clifden, within easy reach of groceries and shops. The owner, Shane O'Grady, maintains the house at a high standard--each of the 11 bedrooms and baths is equally comfortable, well furnished and scrupulously clean. The kitchen is well equipped in appliances, cooking equipment and dishes, intended to serve a large group easily. The living spaces are generous, the pool heated--in all, it is a house of great good spirit. Doirin Hickey of Connemaracooks prepared super meals, and 17 of us left feeling that we would return in a heartbeat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy H
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Wonderful vacation house!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had 20 old friends staying at Sunnybank, and we were amazed at how comfortable we all were. It is a great location, with a short walk to the village. Plenty of parking, tastefully decorated, and extremely comfortable,. Shane, the proprietor, was very responsive and always ready with help or answers. We also arranged catering with Gillian, and it was excellent. Clifden has plenty of shopping and is a great location from which to explore Connemara. We could. It have been happier!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing