We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful; Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful; Great location!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel was reasonably priced while being right smack in the middle of town - excellent location. The owner was a gem of information and friendliness that really added to our stay and selection of things to do. Yoghurt, fruit, and granola absolutely hit the spot in the morning after a night of great music at the local pub. I would stay again and definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felixa85044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks Felixa, glad you enjoyed your stay and your night out in JCs. Told you I was right !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    97
    45
    14
    13
See reviews for
58
107
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The location is excellent, the person at reception at check-inn (hotel owner?) was very pleasant, room was reasonably ok, would'nt fancy wanting to catch up on anything on TV though, some Android phones are bigger.!! Now to where my problem and my resolve not to stay again lies, we went down for breakfast, I asked the person at reception if the newspaper was complimentary? She responded by saying they were "for use only in the hotel only", the emphasis was unecessary. We then went into an empty breakfast room and for extra comfort sat at a four seat (two tables combined) table at which we were served breakfast, half way through we had one of the tables taken from us because "they were expecting a lot of guests down for breakfast" we left after our breakfast there was approx eight people sitting.!! Not finished yet, When we went to check out we could'nt find anyone to take our room key, so having paid on arrival we left the key on the counter, twenty minutes later whilst strolling around the town I got a phone call to request that I come back and pay for two cappichinos we had with breakfast..~!!!! I have travelled throughout Europe, USA, South Africa and Austrailia along with the 32 counties of Ireland and it is the first time I have expierienced having to (a) pay for cappichino with breakfast and (b) getting a phone call to come back and pay, frankly, it appalled me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermot o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi Dermot, and thank you for your review. I'm glad you seemed to enjoy most of your stay, except of course for the Cappuccino incident. However, it is important to point out that the hotel is very clear on what it charges for. Our breakfast menu clearly states that breakfast includes either 'traditional tea or filter coffee'. We also have a variety of specialised coffees and herbal teas available at additional cost. At breakfast, your server pointed out to you that the drinks you ordered would incur additional cost, but you said you accepted that. You left the breakfast table without paying for the drinks. There was nobody at the reception desk when you checked out, but if you waited a few minutes, someone would have quickly appeared. You were aware that there was a bill outstanding, so it was your responsibility to settle same. Naturally, the receptionist then phoned you to remind you. Sorry this left a sour taste. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Monaghan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The only reason I don't give this hotel a 5 across the board is because the rooms are tired and in need of refurbishing , that said we coulden't have been happier . The staff were superb we ate there on the Saturday night and the food was excellent and most reasonably priced for this area . We were made most welcome and nothing was too much trouble .The location is perfect . Breakfast on the Sunday was freshly cooked to order and quite simply Superb. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

There's no lift so if you want to see more than the roof of the restaurant you have walk up two flights. The TV was minuscule . No binoculars were provided. The proprietor was very friendly as were the rest of the staff. The location puts you right in the middle of town. The room was comfortable and the food was good.

Room Tip: Get a room two floors up if you want to have a view of the town square but beaware that there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi Stephen, thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay here. Sorry about the lift, but we do always offer people assistance with bags if required. As for the TV, its a new 22 inch flat screen......don't worry, I'll probably have the binoculars ready for your next stay !!! See you then, Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Excellent place to stay...just in the heart of cliften...owner Sharon couldn't not be any friendlier...great music to spend the evening listening to after a great meal in the hotel. Great choice of food on menu.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfeve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you Holiday Fever, for those kind words. Hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Sharon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Alcock and Brown on Saturday the 13th July. Even after being married for +35 years the proprietor said that we were in the "Honeymoon Suite" (room 201). Declan has a sense of humour. Anyway the Hotel has recently been refurnished since our last visit and I must say to a very high standard, The only comment I might make is, air conditioning might come in useful as the temperatures during the night were about 20 degrees, although on reflection those temperatures are not the norm in Ireland.The staff as before were most friendly and helpful even though the restrauant had to cope with 60+ mouths to feed, we didn't have to wait too long. Unfortunately they did not have crispy duck this time around. My thanks to every one involved in making our fleeting stay a pleasure. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try the Honeymoon Suite (room 210)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinH796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi Colin, thank you for your review. I'm off now to shoot the Duck, so it will be good and crispy by the time to get back !!!!! See you soon again. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for a night and I would recommend it.liked it 2 years ago, some good re furnish net evident. Good value and good service.
Excellent evening menu and very good breakfast.
Central location and less than a minutes walk from conneelys bar where music is great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaSavageGrainge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi Anita, hope you got home safely. Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your time here. See you again sometime. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Coast Hotel
The Atlantic Coast Hotel
#23 of 45 in Clifden
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcock & Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Property: Alcock & Brown Hotel
Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing