We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location old worn 70's hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great location in the center but really a tired hotel from the 60's or 70's. Quite small and no functioning residents bar even on busy weekends. Over priced for what it was. Does not deserve to be as highly rated as it is.

I agree with the call that it is best described as an ambitious B + B.

Room Tip: Away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lazyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

My goodness Lazyfox, what have we done to offend you. You have slated our hotel and also our restaurant online, but never once made your feelings known whilst here. Considering your comments, I must ask are you sure you were actually here ?? The hotel has been extensively renovated since 2010 with a new restaurant and 2 new bars. Only this year, we have refurbished almost all the rooms and also the foyer area. As for a residents bar, that is the one located beside the reception desk. It opens daily at 10.30am and closes when residents don't require it anymore. Even when it does close, staff will bring you a drink to enjoy in the luxurious foyer armchairs. Please do call to see us sometime and I will show you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Only stayed 1 night but we had a lovely big room and an excellent breakfast.Our room was at the front of the hotel and had a great view out onto the town centre. However, the central location meant a certain amount of noise from the street later on. This did not upset us as we were late getting back to our room after a lovely evening out in Clifden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathtad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback Cathtad. Happy you had a good time here. The good news is that all our rooms are just as big, so please, send all your friends ! Best Regards, Declan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I celebrated a 'significant' birthday in Clifden recently and the main event was hosted in the Alcock & Brown hotel. A lot of my friends who attended were also staying in the hotel. From the early planning stage (back in January) to the event itself, the owners Declan and Sharon, ably assisted by Paula, Bernie and others put as much effort into ensuring the night/weekend was a success, as I myself did! Despite my numbers jumping to 60+ in the last week, they did everything to accomodate the party of people who attended and we had a fantastic night. Recommendations from menu to wine to music etc.... was all forthcoming from the A&B 'team'! Apart from the terrific location of the hotel (right opposite the Square in Clifden), the staff provide a welcoming and personal service and all without exception were friendly and helpful. Friends, especially those visiting from outside Ireland and who had been travelling around Ireland before Clifden,remarked on how great the hotel staff were compared to other places they had visited. Professional, courteous but with a personal touch that goes a long way. (many of the other guests I observed during the few days appeared to be 'return guests' and I can understand why.......Thanks to the A&B team for everything!

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel but my friends who did were very happy with their accomodation which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you Alice. It was a great occasion and we are happy so many enjoyed it. See you again soon. Regards, Declan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

loved it.we arrived on a tuesday for two nights.had dinner that night the food was fab and a great price.our room was lovely and clean.enjoyed breakfast aswell.your son served us.so cute and good at it too.well done.will come back again.from audrey and pat

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audreyob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I would like to share that our trip to Clifden this July was great and we stayed in the best hotel in Clifden. We really felt the family touch and all the staff made our stay very welcoming. The rooms were great, clean and very comfortable. I definitely I would recommend it to anyone heading to Clifden. The only problem with our holiday is we couldn’t stay any longer.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi John, very happy you enjoyed your stay. You could always visit again ?? Soon ?? Regards, Declan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The woman at reception wasn't very friendly, and we didn't feel very welcomed.
We stayed there for a night and the room was comfortable, even if it was, overall, very old. There was mould in the bathroom and there was a lot of it on the bathmat. There was a ventilation in the bathroom that was making a lot of noise :after turning off the lights, it took almost half an hour for it to stop, so we had to use the bathroom in the dark.
We had breakfast included, but we had to pay for our espressos (more than €3 each...).
There is no parking so you have to park your car in the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for the tips Sabrina - I will check them out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

stayed here for 1 night and it was nice, town was alive with live music which was lovely. Our room was basic clean not overly big but adequate bed was comfortable, tea and coffee supplied which everyone expects anyway. Girl on reception was lovely and made us feel welcome dinner was average with a great young waiter attending us and nothing was a problem to him. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Had a room looking on to the square which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloneytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Delighted our UK visitors enjoyed their stay. I hope you will come back again sometime. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
294 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcock & Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing