We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clifden Town Hostel(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dun Ri Guesthouse(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Villa B&B(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All the Twos(Clifden)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben View House(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Atlantic Coast Hotel(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
175
103
50
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
103
50
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of towntransatlantic flightcentral locationfamily run hotelstreet parkingresidents barnext morningcould not have been more helpfulstayed here for one nightroom was spaciouslovely hotelenjoyable staygreat weekendcooked breakfasta lovely staybreakfast was excellentsecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stopped for lunch at the Alcock and Brown Hotel and dined in their Vickers Coffee House restaurant. We enjoyed the food very much but most of all the conversation from the owners who told us all about the flight of Alcock and Brown who crashed their Vickers Biplane in Clifden on their attempt at a transatlantic flight back in 1919. They told us how to get to the sight and we enjoyed the ride into the countryside. All in all a nice extra to our great lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for one night, I was in Clifden to watch a band. There was an arts festival on in the town and the place was rocking, music on the streets, trapeze artist, a fantastic parade and the hotel was more or less the best spot to see it all. There is no private parking in the hotel so cars have to be left on the street, it's a euro an hour so that's a bit of a pain. Stayed in family room, which was spotless and comfortable. Had breakfast included for 90 euro for two, breakfast was spot on and cooked fresh. Only complaint and I really do hate to complain when I've had such a nice stay is nobody on the desk when we arrived and had to wait a few minutes, this wouldn't have really have been a problem only every time we went to the desk there was nobody there and always a few minutes of a wait, took a long time to get served at the bar too, but I'll put that down to the busy weekend, although the staff there were all very nice and polite.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzasharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Perfect location in town for our 12 man cycling club. Great breakfast. Declan and Sharon, the owners ,were very accommodating with the cycle storage and a fund of knowledge of local routes. Free wifi is also a bonus. The town has excellent live music bars and loads of great restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in this area.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel to watch the world go by!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamishontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location in Clifden, right on the town square, with at least a dozen pubs (with great music!) within a minute's walk. The room was large, and clean. Be advised there is no elevator, and you have to find your own paid parking on the street. My only suggestion would be that they replace the carpeting...in our room it was very worn, with a number of very noticeable (& rather unappetizing) large stains.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank mariacaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hi Maria, thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Your carpet comments are noted. The hotel is being refurbished - most carpets were changed last Spring with the others are being changed this Autumn. Regards, Declan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile


This hotel is clean, friendly and in a wonderful location. It is a great family run business and they all work very hard o keep there customers happy. 8 of us stayed here for a night and we had a great time, The food in the Gallery was excellent . All in all I loved this place, it had loads of charm. Thanks Declan and Sharon keep up the good work, I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hi Brian, thanks for your review. Glad you all had such a good time. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit. Declan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews