We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel with great food”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed last week for 2 nights with my wife and must say it was a first class experience. Hotel was spotless and very friendly staff. Had not intended eating in Hotel on both nights but the quality,, variety and value soon changed that.Room was very good with a very comfortable bed.Would have no hesitation in highly recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    94
    42
    13
    13
See reviews for
56
102
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Last time we were here, 1995/96 (my god where does the time go) and we both remember the abfab Deirdra who was so accommodating, smiling and the best advert of this hotel you can possibly imagine.

And so to 2013 (yes I haven't had time to write about it) - and the place is still the ugly duckling from the outside (Declan will agree I know) but the inside has been treated to a renovation which makes it more homely and to be honest after driving down from Knock Airport, we couldn't have been happier to see "her" standing there in the centre of the town ;)

The breakfast service is super - but save yourself for dinner, which both my other half and I enjoyed and found good value.

Clear Declan, Sharon and the family are putting their heart and soul into the hotel they first acquired - I think in 2010. It takes time to put a vision in place, but the team have really done a super job - and we can't wait to be back :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My sister & I stayed in the hotel for a hillwalking week end.... The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The room overlooked the centre of Clifden square & all amenities were easily accessible. The room was large, airy, clean & very comfortable. Highly recommended.... & a most pleasure able stay. We'll be back....

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmullet, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed on night in Clifden because Galway was far too busy with the Oyster festival. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise. We lived Clifden and the hotel is right in the middle of the town so we could park the car and stroll around town. Well worth a visit and the rate was very good value. (We booked on the day)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaleenBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

lovely clean hotel in the centre of Clifden. Sharon and Declan the owners went out of there way to arrange a trip to Innishturk Island where our late father lived. Good breakfast served by courteous staff. If ever in the area again it would be my choice because the friendliness and hospitality was first class.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a view of Clifden Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 877Biddy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stopped for lunch at the Alcock and Brown Hotel and dined in their Vickers Coffee House restaurant. We enjoyed the food very much but most of all the conversation from the owners who told us all about the flight of Alcock and Brown who crashed their Vickers Biplane in Clifden on their attempt at a transatlantic flight back in 1919. They told us how to get to the sight and we enjoyed the ride into the countryside. All in all a nice extra to our great lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for one night, I was in Clifden to watch a band. There was an arts festival on in the town and the place was rocking, music on the streets, trapeze artist, a fantastic parade and the hotel was more or less the best spot to see it all. There is no private parking in the hotel so cars have to be left on the street, it's a euro an hour so that's a bit of a pain. Stayed in family room, which was spotless and comfortable. Had breakfast included for 90 euro for two, breakfast was spot on and cooked fresh. Only complaint and I really do hate to complain when I've had such a nice stay is nobody on the desk when we arrived and had to wait a few minutes, this wouldn't have really have been a problem only every time we went to the desk there was nobody there and always a few minutes of a wait, took a long time to get served at the bar too, but I'll put that down to the busy weekend, although the staff there were all very nice and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzasharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcock & Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Property: Alcock & Brown Hotel
Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing