We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the photos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't believe the photos”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location but the room was awful ...broken furniture and lamps ....really old and tatty curtains ....nothing like the pictures on line ..the towels were old worn and very grey and should be replaced immediately ...there was a plug in air freshener in the hallway to mask a smell ...this is a 3star hotel my room was barely 1 star ....

Really disappointing

Room Tip: Rooms to the back look out on a dumpster
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Owner at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear AnnM, it is rare that I see a review that annoys me. Most people speak their minds honestly about their experiences and I can generally see where they are coming from and may agree or disagree. However your review does not fall into that category. The photos on our site were taken in the last 12 months and do represent the rooms and hotel accurately and correctly. Your descriptions are incorrect and inaccurate. There is no point in saying anything else to you. Regards, Declan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    96
    42
    13
    13
See reviews for
57
103
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay here, I can not praise the hotel and staff enough. From the moment we checked in we were greeted with a wonderful friendly welcome from the receptionist/manager. Throughout our stay the staff were so nice and could not do enough for you.

We had a fabulous dinner in the Restaurant, there was music playing as we dined which added to the atmosphere. After dinner we had a lovely Irish Coffee & Bailey's Coffee, perfect to round off the evening, thank you...

The room we had was spacious with a double bed and a single bed. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The beds were very comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and set us up for the day. Again service was excellent.

Overall this is a lovely family run hotel located in the heart of Clifden, I will definitely be returning..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 76sammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear 76Sammo,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely glowing review. We are so pleased you had a good experience from the moment you arrived and that you were impressed with our friendly staff and service and so many aspects of our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.
Regards,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here overnight while on business in the area.I really enjoyed the stay.Hotel is in a good location at the top of the town.All staff were very friendly and helpful;genuinely wanting you to enjoy your stay and your time in the area.Although I imagine this is an old hotel,the room was great and it was very clean.The breakfast was very good.The cooked breakfast was cooked to order,not the usual overcooked buffet fare on offer in most hotels.Hotel is very close to all the pubs and restaurants in the town,and the town was bustling with visitors the night I was there.Would definitely recommend and I look forward to visiting this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breezer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Breezer67,
Many thanks for your very complimentary review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you were impressed with our staff and food and, of course, our great central location! We hope to welcome you back here again very soon.
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed here, however I always have my coffee here together with a sweet treat. This time I also had lunch, being the chowder and it was great, while last year (2013) I had dinner as well also good. I must say that on each occasion I have been warmly greeted and the service was exceptional. There were quite a few in the restaurant. Since 2013 the room has been re-organised and split into two. A much better cosy feeling. If you are looking for a good coffee this is the place as I have tried others and to date no one compares. The location is good, being at the top of the town and also has a nice little outdoor area for those summer days.. Do try it..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Barbara,
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are pleased you enjoyed coffee and sweet treats and lunch in our newly refurbished Coffee House and Restaurant. Our staff will be happy to know that you felt the warm welcome and were impressed with their service.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back here very soon!
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Cliften. The staff are very welcoming & friendly.
The hotel itself is very basic & the bedrooms are dated but clean & serve their purpose.
We ate in the restaurant in the hotel as part of a group. The food was good but the service was terrible & so slow. Some in our group had their main course finished by the time we were served.
I would wait here again but maybe eat somewhere else. The service needs to speed up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookieireIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have noted your comments regarding service at the time your group dined and apologise if the service was slow. All our food is cooked to order.
We are pleased that you felt welcome at our hotel and that you enjoyed the food.
Regards,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fine for a short stay or if you plan on moving around. The room was basic enough. There was nobody in the restaurant or bar. I wondered how they manage to stay open. I had no complaints but wouldn't stay if you like your hotel atmosphere. However clifden is hopping and this hotel stands at the top of the town so it's location is perfect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Lindaw65,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our Hotel and Restaurant have been heavily booked for the past few weeks. It could be that at the time of your stay there was a group staying who dined at a particular time, different from the time you happened to be in the restaurant and bar. We have live music by the Carey Brothers each evening in our Restaurant and this has been very popular. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here at a time when we are busy for the time of your visit to our restaurant and bar.
Regards,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My self and my family stayed in this great family run hotel for 3 nights. We were very presently surprised with warm welcome , great food and lovely new rooms(which had wifi!!). Great breakfast every morning served by young friendly staff who were very helpful in helping us plan our days. Ate in the restaurant 2 nights and it was brilliant, it was great value and loved the live music. We will be back.

Room Tip: Superior front rooms well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickersbar, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear John B,
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It was our pleasure to welcome you here and we are happy you felt welcome by our staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forwards to seeing you here soon. again.
Regards,
Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcock & Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcock & Brown Hotel

Property: Alcock & Brown Hotel
Address: The Town Square | Connemara, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcock & Brown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alcock & Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcock Brown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing