We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
408
92
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
92
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewturbotdining roomclifden areathis family run hotelseafood chowderbeautiful hotelopen firehope to returnfirst floorbreakfast and dinnerpersonal touchenjoyed every minutecomfy bedfriendly hotelwonderful staystayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The views magnificent Set in rocky seaside location Very comfortable Agreeable decor The owners and staff are charming, the service very good, the restaurant and food are memorable,we hope to go back there is good carparking, to find the hotel follow the road from Clifden sign posted for the golf club.

Room Tip: request one with sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Ardagh hotel recently and throughly enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a sea view room and what a lovely view it was. The owners son checked us in and was extremely polite and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant which has a great view. The food was excellent, first class, and the background music was ideal. The hotel was clean and the clever little touches made the difference. Overall this is a top class family run hotel with an excellent restaurant and we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We made a return visit to the Ardagh over the Easter weekend and received our usual warm welcome from the owners, Stephane and Monique, and staff. This family-run hotel is a delight; the owners are genuinely interested in how you have spent your day and are ready to give advice on things to do and places to go in the area. The rooms are comfortable and kept immaculately clean, and throughout the hotel the attention to detail and little touches make a big difference.
The great attraction of this hotel is the restaurant which must provide some of the best dining in Connemara. The menu choice is excellent, fish and veg are always fresh and locally sourced, and there are clever variations on classic dishes. The Ardagh's famous seafood chowder is a special treat. Coupled with the breathtaking view over the bay it makes for a wonderful dining experience.
After dinner there is often live musical entertainment in the spacious bar area.
Thanks again Stephane and Monique for another great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view if available so you can watch the sun set over the bay
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I returned to this hotel for the Easter weekend confident again that the Ardagh would live up to expectations .It exceeded expectations.The owners are welcoming and professional setting the highest standards in quality of accommodation and food .The breakfasts and dinners are first class in quality and presentation .The atmosphere is relaxed .At times a combination of locals and residents produce a session in the bar but you can choose music or the quietness of the view
And the view ? There is nowhere better to watch the sun set than over the bay watching the water shimmer and swans glide past islands until the stars appear

Room Tip: Room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delahunty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this small hotel outside Clifden in summer 2012 with my partner. It's a good 15 minute drive outside the town so a car is essential. Luckily for us there is plenty of parking outside.
From the outside the building is a bit dated and inside it reminded me of the hotel from Twin Peaks, but please do not let this put you off! There is a charm to it that can only be experienced.
Monique showed us to our sea view room, which was requested, and it simply is beautiful. Even on a soggy wet Irish summers day.
The room was very large with a double bed, a small sofa and chair and desk. I didn't have cause to use the tv. The bathroom again was a little dated but everything was immaculate and the shower was incredibly powerful.

We didn't dine at the hotel, which from the menu appeared to be mid to high end gourmet fair, opting to eat out in town.

At night Stefan arranged for a taxi to bring us into the town. The nightlife is a bit surreal. If you're of the age, try out the local nightclub!! A note of caution, Clifden has about 4 taxis and at 3am it was very difficult to find one willing to go out as far as the Ardagh, so try book your return journey in advance.
As the hotel is in a rural area there is little scope for noise, other than passing traffic so it was a very peaceful night.

I would definitely return here if staying in the Clifden area.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heretique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews