We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This family owned and run hotel is absolutely brilliant. We were met at the door by the elder of the two men who own/run the hotel and graciously shown to our room.

It was actually a suite with a spacious sitting room, complete with tile adorned fireplace, and good sized bedroom with a four poster bed. The bathroom was very large, with two pedestal sinks, jetted tub and, surprisingly, a bidet.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

We had both dinner and breakfast on site and were quite happy with everything, including a broad wine selection.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubyaDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
There are newer reviews for Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed. My husband was not feeling well and the staff was so helpful. They said to let us know if there was anything they could do for us. and it was sincere. The next day several people asked if he was feeling better. Dinner service was excellent and the food was wonderful. Roger in the bar hosted an evening champagne reception and got people to talking. One of the owners was always present in the dining room, greeting people and providing area maps and general chat. Our room overlooked the spa cottage which was tucked into a private garden, so low traffic, no noise for our spacious room with a 4 poster bed. The hotel felt intimate and relaxing and we hated to leave. We will definately return and reccomend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were very excited to stay in a "castle" for our anniversary and the location did not disappoint! This hotel sits atop a hill over the cute town of Clifden and although it appears old the hotel was quite cozy!! The room, hile slightly dated, was clean and comfortable. The lobby area was very nice with comfortable chairs and a warm fire. There was even a "housecat that was not really a housecat" (she got in one day and made herself at home!) that sat on my husband's lap and made his entire evening! We also enjoyed Gilbert...the friendly and quite talkative parrot! He was quite entertaining the two nights we were there. Breakfast was abundant and delicious! At breakfast Brian found out we were celebrating our anniversary and proceeded to tell everyone in the dining room! That night he had a special dessert for us in the dining room and announced our 15 years to all! He made our anniversary very special and we will always have fond memories of this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Very reasonably priced for such a great hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Great entertainment at night. Beautiful surroundings. Gorgeous room with four poster bed and fireplace in the room. Fantastic breakfast. Only negative is the spa, the hot tub had not been cleaned. It seemed as if it hadn't been used in a long time, in fact the lady at reception seemed a bit surprised when we asked where it was. Other than that, fab hotel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWalrusontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is my 5th stay at the Abbeyglen and each time I experience a "over-the-moon" experience. The family that own/operate the castle are very hands-on, always hovering over the guests to make sure all is well. They are not only entertaining, literally in their pub in the evening, but very professional and friendly with their approach to "every" customer that comes through the stately front door. The restaurant in my experience is a "5 star", with exceptional food and service. In my 36 years of working with a major airline I recommend very few establishments but the Abbeyglen is one of only a few I'd standby my recommendations. Thank you Abbeyglen for another wonderful experience...my friends were blown-away with your exceptional service.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional. There is a lift to floors and parking on premises. Go for their 2-3 day s...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retiredlvnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I wanted to get "off the grid" for a few days, so I needed a great cover story to tell my team. What better explanation to give than to say, "I'm staying in a castle on the coast of Ireland. You won't be able to reach me there."

As we entered the third hour of our drive from Shannon Airport, we wondered if we made a mistake. Despite winding through the astonishing "Twelve Bens," all we really wanted at that point was a nap. Dazed, sleep-deprived, and pretty punchy, we pulled into the Abbeyglen Castle parking lot, where attentive Jozef was already waiting for us with a luggage cart. Poor Claire at the front desk must have barely understood us as we mumbled our names to check in.

The loft-like room we checked into had more than everything we needed: four-poster bed, a couch in front of a gas fireplace, windows overlooking the hotel's spa, and an oversized bathroom. Eighteen hours of transatlantic travel left us pretty exhausted, but Claire and the rest of the team insisted we not miss the dinner that was included in our rate. She and the boys brought everything right up to our room, and we learned an important lesson in Irish hospitality: folks here want to beat you to "you're welcome" before you have a chance to say "thank you."

Our meals at the hotel were pretty decadent, leaning pretty heavily on local cheese, butter, and seafood. Only in Boston and San Francisco have I eaten so much chowder in such a short amount of time. The poached salmon on our first night rates among the best seafood dinners I've ever enjoyed. (I can't imagine why you'd even want to eat beef here, with freshly caught, local fish on the menu daily.)

But the people running this place really make it special. Paul and Brian put so much of their personalties into this place. Some visitors may find this really quirky—even a little off-putting. But they took the time to learn our names, ask about where we're from, and check in with us during meals and at the bar.

The hotel's in a near-constant state of refurbishment, explaining some of the uneven reviews. Yes, the baths are powered by bog water, and they warn you about this with a cute little note in the bathroom. We didn't have any peat in our claw-foot tub, as Brian explained that they had installed a new filtering system recently. If you're looking for totally modernized rooms with brand new furniture, this place probably isn't for you. However, our room was spotless, quiet, and most relaxing.

Room Tip: Our superior room overlooked the hotel spa and garden, very quiet and relaxing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeTaylorJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We arrived a little later than we wanted and when shown to our room, 3 people staying in a superior room with 3 beds, we were offered a complimentary extra room, probably had plenty open, but the manager didn't have to do that, so that was a very nice touch.

The breakfast was very good and the servers very attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yitbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: £101 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing