We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Spent a weekend at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel recently with a friend. We have booked the package including dinners on both nights and breakfast both mornings.

The extras didn't end there though - tea and scones on arrival, got a call at 6.30pm to tell us all to come down to the bar where there was complimentary champagne, brie and crackers and smoked salmon and crackers to accompany a brief history of Clifden and the hotel. The owner who gave the talk spoke really fast and we did hear some people saying that they didn't understand most of what he had said. We're Irish so we understand the accent but we still struggled a little!!

The room itself was great, we got a complimentary upgrade to a suite, four poster bed, gas fire in the room and separate seating area. Couldn't fault it.

The dinners on both nights were nice with the exception of my main course on the second night, everything else was prefect. The dessert buffet - what can I say, amazing.

The staff were very helpful and all very jolly. The breakfast both mornings was really good with a great selection.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a long weekend - you won't be disappointed.

The hotel itself is about a 10 minute walk from Clifden itself on top of a hill with lovely views of the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphy_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
There are newer reviews for Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had afternoon tea in the hotel.The setting was really lovely and it was a sunny day so it added to the atmosphere of the hotel.It was a lovely selection of sandwiches and was very fresh. The hotel is a short distance from Clifden which is in the heart of Connemara.If you are thinking of a special occasion ,i would suggest that you consider this hotel.You will certainly enjoy,P

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel. Me and 40 of my friends including my 3 children went there to celebrate my 40th birthday. I spent some time organising it beforehand and the staff were so helpful and didn't forget any of my little requests.
The room we had was set up very well for the children. There were 2 beds for the boys in the separate sitting room and there was a cot in our bedroom for the baby. Plus we had a four poster bed. The hotel organised a babysitter for the children in the evening - a lovely woman (Ann) who also works in the hotel.
We had a champagne reception before dinner and because the weather was nice we were able to have it outside by the fountain.
The food and the service was excellent. The highlight was the entertainment in the bar after dinner. Brian the manager sings and plays the piano plus he adds in a dancing competition which is more fun than you would expect. There's absolutely no need to leave the hotel at night - stay for the entertainment.
At breakfast the next morning, Brian was there to welcome us all and has a strange talent of being able to remember everyone's name. It's a family run hotel and you actually feel like you're part of the family.
All of my friends really enjoyed the night and loved their rooms. Some of us are trying to come up with an excuse to go back - maybe for one of their Christmas parties.
Aside from having my birthday party there, the part that I was really happy with was the way the kids were made feel so welcome. My 8 year old was given a gold medal for good behaviour and he was thrilled to bits. Its the little things that matter.

Bring your kids or bring your friends - you'll love it.

Room Tip: Rooms 43 and 72 are fab. Room 72 has a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely castle and had very nice room, there the positive's end. After check in , gentleman showed us to our room, Didnt offer to take my partner's case - Good manners costs nothing.
Areas such as mantlepiece, etc in our room had last been dusted weeks if not months ago based on depth of dust.
Had brealfast in our room - small jug of milk despite two for coffee and cereal, pastries tasted stale, no marmalade/jam.
Dinner was a rushed experience and my main course was of poor pub grub standard.
We were told by 'manager' that he 'doesnt get many Irish 'Punters'. We can see why as ourselves and another Irish couple were ignored by him while he catered for his overseas 'punters'.
Most damning indictment - Fire hazard - Housekeeing leave laundry trolley and other trolley beside Fire exit and end of narrow corridoor leaving it partilially blocked.
Definetly a place to be avoided at all costs, especially if your an 'Irish Punter (Guest)!!'

Room Tip: Had room with private mini waterfall outside which was lovely
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We traveled in a small group and arrived dead tired. That attitude quickly changes as we were received by Paul who was all smiles and served us champagne while we got checked into lovely rooms. The food was very good and Roger our waiter was on top of his game with service. Our entire group enjoyed the fine service and the hotel. Yes it is a little old but it is well maintained and the staff is excellent. Hope you enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Our mother and daughter trip was highlighted by a castle stay and this worked so well for our itinerary and budget. The Galway Tour company dropped us off at Kylemore Abbey and a taxi ferried us to the castle then back again to join the next days tour pickup at the castle. Tuesday is Irish night and a lot of fun. We ordered a full package including supper, breakfast and a packed lunch the next day. Yes, maybe a little more than from a shop but it was personally packed for us and we had it in hand for a ramble through the countryside exploring historic ruins etc. Staff is very helpful and accommodating and we had a marvelous time. Castle itself is great to explore and enjoy and a great place to meet other travelers!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On 05/01 and 05/02/2014 my friends and I stayed at the Abbeyglen Castle in Clifden. Our accommodation had been arranged through Exploring Ireland. We were treated like royalty and had a great time. Thank you to Mr Hughes and his staff. The room was exquisite. I felt transported back in time but all the comfort you could want. We all loved our stay from the champagne upon arrival, the flags on the table at our meals, the food was excellent, I loved the bird( wish I could remember his name), the room, the bathrooms, there is not one negative thing to say. I would stay again in a heartbeat. Thank you! The Castle is close to many places of interest. One great trip we took(on suggestion from the staff) was a day trip to Inishbofin. It was the best! Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micki641117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: £100 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing