We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Delightful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was one of several hotels we visited while on our trip to Ireland.

While we found staff at all our hotels to be friendly and helpful, the hospitality at Abbeyglen was by far the best. We were treated like friends rather than hotel guests and the staff went above and beyond to assist us with finding our way around the area.

We recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    248
    108
    53
    43
See reviews for
218
602
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a real castle in a lovely setting. Have your photo taken sitting on the throne they place at the entrance!
The rooms are nicely furnished, and it's truly fun to stay here as Brian and Paul make a special effort to know every guest and make them feel welcomed. They hold a champagne reception every evening and their breakfasts are terrific. We ate evening meals in the dining room which we recommend. The bar has music at night and, though everyone has a good time, the noise cannot be heard in the guest rooms. Though we experienced a few glitches, they were resolved quickly and to our satisfaction. Gilbert the talking parrot is entertaining and just one more quirky and fun aspect of this establishment.

One negative is that WiFi is only available in public areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacation00002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited the Abbeyglen for a "look" as we were based at the Station House.

We had lunch which mainly consisted of sandwiches etc. which suited and it was lovely and reasonable. The decor takes a little getting used to but overall we found the hotel to be quiet charming.

We loved the parrot at reception who was great fun and were very impressed by the piano playing and singing by one of the Hughes family for a group who were on the veranda of an adjoining lounge.

There's also a corridor behind reception where there are photos of the famous people who visited the hotel, over the years.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for the first time over 20 Years ago and Many Many times since. We always loved the place! The restaurant, the setting , the Hughes Family, the rooms, best nights sleep ever had, renowned location. Tried to get 2 rooms in the Hotel , we even knew our room numbers, and Deeply disappointed with the news that the Hotel need a non refundable Booking deposit to take a Reservation, we stay in a lot of places and never encountered this, even the attitude of receptionist was poor! Unheard of !! This is not a common practice anywhere in Ireland?! we are devastated, on pure principle I would not pay a booking charge. we wanted to stay. Business must be really GOOD! if you are doing this.

Room Tip: We are reluctant to help travellers who do pay this charge, they should not have to! our tip is , as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fergal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you are in Clifden Ireland, be sure to book a stay at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel. You will be treated like royalty. The owner and staff do everything to make you feel as though you are the only patron they have. From a champagne welcome, robes in the room, and the most fabulous meals served in the restaurant, it was a fantastic stay. Thanks to Brian and staff, it was an unforgettable experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

book a stay at the Abbeyglen Hotel ..... you will have a ball. The people are wonderful, lots of special care is taken so you feel very spoiled and its just a wonderful place to have a real break.The surrounding area is stunning - walk up the Sky Road to see breathtaking views out over the Atlantic,the town is very nice and your host can tell you 37 really good things to do BEFORE breakfast.We wil definitely be returning with as many friends as we can muster. Good dinner menu, great breakfast buffet (the bacon is especially good) and lots of treats like afternoon tea and champagne reception before dinner.PLUS Brian Hughes, the hotelier, plays a mean piano and leads a great singalong in the evenings.
There can be quite a difference between rooms so be clear what you need when booking

Room Tip: Talk to the staff they are very helpful and want you to be comfortable, so be clear what you need an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is not really a castle but you will feel like kings and queens if you stay here. The hotel is lovely. The rooms are elegant. There are plenty of plug ins, a tv, a fluffy robe and lovely toiletries. Don't miss the champagne welcoming in the bar when the owner tells you about the history of the hotel. There is a throne outside that you could have your picture taken in.
I would recommend eating at the restaurant. The owner and the serving staff make you feel very special. There is a special room rate on dinner. The vegetables are served family style with the meal. There is a sorbet served between courses. The dessert table is extra but once you see it you will see why you shouldn't resist. The owner takes pictures of the group for you to take home for free. He also puts flags out representing what country you are from. The service was quiet and the best I've seen. The Irish Breakfast was lovely with so many choices that no matter what you want you will find it.
The town is within walking distance with lovely pubs with live Trad music. I came to late to shop but there were several nice looking stores I would have liked to wander in.
If you are like me and like a cool room to sleep in request a fan soon as you check in. I did and they brought one. There is no a/c but most people didn't find it too warm. I did not know about the pitch and putt or tennis until I was driving to leave. There was also a path I couldn't find. I would love to have the receptionist or the owner at the champagne intro to tell us what is available and where. There was more available than I knew.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing