We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,437)
Filter reviews
1,437 results
Traveller rating
892
305
123
65
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
305
123
65
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne receptionbrian hughesfour poster bedsconespiano barbefore dinnerdessert buffetgas firesing songfree champagneirish nightsuperior roomdining roomcrackersturf firesold world charmthe pub
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,437 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We arrived at about 17.00hrs and were immediately invited to a reception in the bar where the owner Brian gave us a comprehensive review in the attractions of the area. This really did set the tone for the welcome which we were offered.
The bedroom overlooked the town and the harbour.
The bedroom was generous in size with two good armchairs which contributed greatly to our enjoyment.
Breakfast was included-and was very good. There were about 30 tables in the dining room and there was plenty of food for everybody. This hotel believes in being full throughout the year.
Whether it is a castle or not is open to debate- as it appears that the original historic house was castillated in the 1970s.
On another day of our stay we had free afternoon tea which was lovely and sociable.

Room Tip: Top floor gives thebest views over the harbour and town.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Our second visit to Abbey Glen castle began just before storm Eleanor hit the west coast. Solid walls, turf fires and generous champagne receptions meant we were almost unaware of the havoc being caused by the weather. Well done to Abbey Glen for their hospitality,good food, service and comfortable (if a little old fashioned) rooms. A great port in a storm.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank 16egan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We visited in 2014 and had the times of our lives! The staff were friendly and helpful. Champagne hour was amazing getting to know the owner and other guests! Great location for being close to several great sight seeing areas! Dinner was superb, as well as breakfast selection to die for!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We feel very fortunate to have "accidentally" discovered the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel.
My son and I were taking an off season road trip up the Wild Atlantic Way, only booking one day ahead. Who knew we'd stumble on such a warm and beautiful place, and be treated to a room upgrade upon check in by the host Brian Hughes. He called us "VIPs" and certainly made us feel very important indeed.
The atmosphere just a few days before Christmas was warm and welcoming, the Irish Music in the Pub on Tuesday night was perfect, the breakfast inclusive in our rate was the best of all the places we'd stayed, and the bed was oh so comfortable.
I will forever appreciate our time at the Abbeyglen and hope to see them again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We spent one night here over the Christmas holiday season. We would not go back. It was a very odd place to stay: it’s presented as an authentic castle type stay but it is anything but. It’s a purpose built hotel in the form of a castle, to lure unsuspecting tourists. The place needs an overhaul, in terms of seriously updating the interior of the building and the rooms (the decor is stuck in the 1970s). The interior is presented as old-world charm but it’s very evident on arrival that the place just looks very tired and drab looking. The bedroom was satisfactory but we could see where there had been a leak in the ceiling and this had been patched up and painted over with a different colour paint. The hairdryer was on the verge of blowing up, there was a smell of chlorine in the room from the spa bath and the pictures were all hung up crookedly on the walls. I found the breakfast quite appalling for the price. I’m convinced the food was cooked on a previous day and just reheated, because the full Irish breakfast tasted like rubber. What I found extraordinary was that the plates for use at breakfast had clearly not been cleaned from previous service and bits of food were stuck on the bottom of the plates and there were smudge marks all over them, clearly indicating that they hadn’t been washed properly. I really cannot see how this place has been given a 4 star rating (how long ago was this rating?). For the price of the room for the night (€154 inc breakfast for two people on booking.com), the standard was alarming to say the least. I genuinely feel that if this hotel wasn’t located in a tourist town like Clifden, it would be closed by now. A most disappointing stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JPSR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews