We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem a true Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
“A Little Gem a true Find”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I have never given a review before but i couldn't let my experience pass without letting you all know how brilliant this place is. Brian the owner will make you feel like the only person in the castle. He made me and my friends feel so welcome and went out of the way to make our stay one of most treasured weekends of our lives.
The staff were more than accommodating very pleasant, warm and welcoming.
Its truely an amazing hotel the charm and warmth should not be missed. The food was also to the highest standard make sure and keep some room for the Desert table. Its along time since i went away for a weekend and really came a way with a loss in my heart for a hotel. Open fires and plenty of crack its very hard to really put it all into words my stay here but i'm home 2 days now and my head still wanders back to Abbeyglen giving me a smile everytime...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureenbwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us in Abbeyglen Castle.

We have passed on your kind coments to Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    261
    114
    54
    43
See reviews for
226
629
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed here midweek in November with our 9 year old son. The staff were excellent, very friendly and exactly what one use to expect in an Irish hotel. (I thought this kind of hospitality had disappeared with the during the Tiger but thankfully it's alive and well in the Abbeyglen.) Dinner was amazing both evenings and the breakfast was all you could eat with, again, great service. You want poached eggs, just ask for them. In the afternoon around 4-5 P.M. they serve homemade scones with tea and coffee in the bar, gratis to guests. I have to say overall it was one of the best experiences we had at a hotel. Many hotels will offer more amenities and the rooms will be more up to date but few have the same level of genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fza495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted that your stay in Abbeyglen was "one of the best experiences" .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, IDaho, USA
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We absolutely loved this hotel. Everything from the reception and service to the food and amenities were top notch. Brian gave that extra personal touch of hospitality that made the trip memorable.

We must also emphasize how wonderful the area is. We were presented with a walking tour map upon check in, and we walked several of the sites. Clifden castle is not to be missed.

The authentic Irish music at dinner and the pub added another nice touch. All in all, we highly recommend Abbeyglen. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red1Head44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the area.

We have passed on your kind comments to Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Abbeyglen is a fantastic hotel. Everything about it was great, the rooms where nice, the reception we had on arrival was lovely ,the bar is a good place to be (Very nice bartender from wales),the food is 5 star and the overall service and freindly touch from Brian and Paul cant be found anywhere else! We had our own machine with us and the Jet A1 on stand at the hotel I was not expecting and saved us a trip to Galway just to top up! Had a lovely time out on Inishbofin and Inishturk and stopped in a place north of Clifden called Renvyle house for lunch. Will be back next summer for sure, and will bring more of my freinds. Take care and keep up the good work. Karl with the JetRanger

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Dear Karl,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Stayed for the bank holiday weekend in October with my Husband. Staff at desk were very friendly. Whole hotel is very relaxing - loved the afternoon tea and the hotel is just so warm and cozy and we would definitely go back. Room could do with a small bit of updating e.g. even a bit of paint on windowsills but this in NO way hampered our visit. Hotel is ideally located -just outside but in walking distance of village and the 2 Owners really make you feel welcome at breakfast and dinner etc. One of the nicest stays I have had in Ireland. Would recommend and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that your stay was one of the nicest stays you had in Ireland.

We really appreicate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Paul and Brian, the owners of this wonderful castle hotel are very warm and welcoming. Making you feel very comfortable and cozy at this beautifully located castle. Brian is an amazing piano player that got the pub energized and singing every night. Made you feel very welcome and involved.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflygirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The hotel is gorgeous with amazing grounds and Brian and Paul Hughes go beyond any Irish hospitality I had seen on the trip- with complementary champagne on the bank holiday weekend and a nightly sing-along in the pub every night. It turns out that Brian is quite the musician as well. Breakfast and dinner is included and the food is phemominal. The hotel reminded me very much of the Balsams Hotel in Dixhill Notch, NH. Our room was spacious with a private sitting room. There were several public sitting rooms off the lobby and a friendly African Grey Parot named Gilbert in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLynch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyglenCastleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
Thank you for your review.

Paul and Brian were delighted to hear your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyglen Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Castle Hotel

Property: Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyglen Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Abbeyglen Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Castle Clifden
Hotel Abbeyglen Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing