We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice break”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We enjoyed a two night break here last week
the staff were helpful and pleasant and the room was clean and modern
we ate in the hotel that night and the food was delicious
the breakfast selection was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    398
    110
    37
    16
See reviews for
483
471
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We've stayed in the self-catering apartments here 3 years running. We love self-catering and they have a great kids club from 3-9pm included in the self-catering price but a coat of paint and some attention to detail is badly required: missing cables, blown bulbs, broken switches, stained and damaged furniture all need attention. Having said all that, the staff are friendly and helpful and Clifden is a great place to base yourself for a Connemara holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband booked this hotel for us and I was very pleasently suprised. It was a great hotel with all the facilities The pool area was great, as this is very important to us as a family. They had a kids club which was fantastic. They handed you an agenda of what was going on in the club on your arrival. They had dinner, watched a movie and played games every day which gave us some much deserved free time. The staff couldnt help enough and the food was really good. The rooms were clean and had all the mod cons, except for a safe which would of been helpful. It was also within walking distance of Clifden town. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially anyone with a family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in the apartments attaching to the hotel. We had access to all the facilities of the hotel but staying in a 2 bed apartment adjoining it. The apartments are booked through the hotel. The apartment was functional but worn, torn and tired in places, but clean. They were noisy though, with a particularly early noisy diesel engine waking us every day; and street and other holiday maker’s noises fully audible from the bedrooms. Our apartment was also a ground floor unit and it was dark. A little more attention to detail is needed: it was missing an iron and the cookware was not really functional with one pan being rusty and the rest being catering sizes. The maid left our external door open on both occasions that they serviced the apartment (on arrival and mid-week); the door was difficult to close properly. After all that, you do get a place to stay in almost the centre of Clifton and it is good accommodation for the price (€750 for a week) and the noise subsides early enough, as it is family orientated rather than for singles and couples.

We ate in Clifton town most of the time where there is an amazing selection of excellent restaurants; all in walking distance. We ate once in the hotel bar – not a good experience. The food was poor. We did not eat in the hotel main restaurant due to having read reviews of the main restaurant on TA in advance.

Kids club was a good effort, staff were nice and our children enjoyed it. Pool was uniformly deep (no shallow end) so my youngest for whom it was too deep to stand, did not enjoy it as much as she might. There is a cinema on site with shows twice a week and a “magic show” once a week. The latter is only suitable for very young children (perhaps under 8) as the magic was moderate to poor and the show was mostly made up of dancing cartoon characters.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cultural-Weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We will definitely book this hotel again. We booked a week in a 3-bedroom apartment which, while not the most modern, was clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and really quick to respond - I reported a beeping smoke detector and it was fixed immediately. The location of the hotel is excellent. The pool is large, clean and well supervised. The Station Bar had great food at a reasonable price. My only (minor) comment is that the apartment could benefit from a bit more equipment for cooking for a family (e.g. oven dishes and a sharp knife) and a couple of shelves in the hotpress to dry wet swimming gear, towels and wetsuits. There were 5 of us, and that's a lot of gear! This was our first visit to Clifden and I would highly recommend it - so much to see and do and the kids had a great time. Didn't get to try the Kids Club as the weather was uncharacterstically good, so we made the most of it. There are loads of great eating places, sightseeing, stunning beaches and plenty of lake fishing. We couldn't fit everything in over the week so see you next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

this is a fabulous hotel for families with young children . we have been here 4 x in past couple of years 2x each year for a mini break, It is so relaxing for the whole family , short stroll into the centre of Clifden for a bit of shopping for the Mum , (or a pint for Dad !) the Kids club keeps the kids entertained for practically the whole day ..in fact the first time we went both myself and wife were almost getting withdrawal symptoms as we didint know what to do without them ! . they even took them at evening time for dinner . this left us to have a relaxing apperatif in the beautiful old Railway Station Bar before having a quiet meal together in the restaurant (lovely food is seved informally in the Station Bar as well) The staff are so much geared up for kids and even knew the names of the boys when they came back ..(dont know if thats a good thing form the hotel or a bad thing about my kids !! :) ) There is a theatre onsite as well which doubles up as a cinema and one night we went to see a film . the Pool is very clean and well maintained and the Family room accommodation sufficient with a double bed , single bed and campbed .
Sadly we havent been for the past year but our children always ask when are we going to the 'Galway ' Hotel (even though its a good hours drive from Galway)
Maybe later thi year we might get up again , But I for one would certainly recommend this Hotel for its friendly service, Excellent Food , Reasonable price , Cleanliness and All round excellence.

Room Tip: Check to see if the Kids club is on during Holiday time and have an extra bit of time for yourselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballerup, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed two nights early July with my adult daughter. The room (twin) was very nice and pretty large. The pool was a pleasant surprise - larger than the "normal" hotel swimming pool.
The hotel is within an easy walk from the city center where a good number of restaurants can be found.

The only slighter minus was breakfast - the coffee was NOT good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60yarsofage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
308 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing