We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Look , great location that is for sure , beds very comfy , mine anyway, but food was absolutely terrible breakfast and dinner , so not worth it on that end . ......................but maybe the chef was off !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    398
    110
    37
    16
See reviews for
486
472
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Avery nice hotel. the place is a bit older looking but the rooms are very nice and the hotel is also very nice.the staff are very friendly. The on site pub is a typical Irish pub and a very friendly place. The food in the restaurant is also good

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I travelled to Clifden for a family reunion with 2 of my sons. Everything about our stay was fantastic. The service was superb--prompt, polite and helpful. I often travel in Europe and the rooms are often small by US standards--Our room at the Station House was plenty big.

We were greeted with a bowl of fruit and some bottled water. It hit the spot after a long journey.

The hotel is set among a number of shops and pleaces to eat or grab coffee or tea - All very convenient.

The hotel also has adjacent apartments. We were upgraded into a split-level apartment that had everything you could want for an extended stay.

And lastly, while all the hotel staff was wonderful, we were fortunate to be assisted by Aine. She made our stay a particularly pleasant one. We are certain to return in the future.

Room Tip: The room was quite big by European standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pesaro
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We came here as a family group ranging in age from 9 to 81 and were all very happy with it. Great location, a couple of minutes walk from the town centre, but you actually don't have to leave the hotel area at all, since there are shops, a great pub and leisure centre right there in a converted old railway station area! As well as a very good hotel restaurant and attentive staff. Oh and a fantastic breakfast. We availed of all it had to offer and were more than satisfied. Rooms were a little on the boring side, but goodness what value, especially for the 2 adult+2 kid component of our family group. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AylaPesaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

There is something quite magical about Clifden. It feels like there is champagne in the air. The town was busy when we arrived on Saturday afternoon with lots of people milling around in a happy, holiday mood. The Clifden Station House hotel is well signposted and easy to find. Kathy on Reception made us feel most welcome and check in was quick and efficient. Our room was clean with a pleasant view over the courtyard and the facilities were good. Nice toileteries in the bathroom; tea/coffee making facilities with a little biscuit each; multi channel TV; good linen with 4 big pillows (there were 4 extra pillows in the wardrobe which was great!); nice, fluffy towels; excellent water power in the bath which filled up in seconds! I was amazed. The room temperature was just right and the window could be opened if required. The hotel is build in the grounds of the old Clifden railway station and the layout of the hotel reflects the traditional layout of the station. The old brick and stonework is evident as well as lots of ivy on the outer wall of the old style buildings. It was so lovely. One could say that this layout is unusual in the the leisure centre (while accessible from the main hotel building) is in a separate building while the main bar is across the courtyard. This in no way detracts from the atmosphere of the hotel it. There is a museum on site with lots of local artifacts from times gone by. Ther is also a little shopping centre of boutiques and hair dressing salon. There was live entertainment in all the pubs and we were spoilt for choice. There was Irish Dancing in Mannions and traditional music in a few others. We ended up in EJ King's where the craic was mighty with live music and buzzing atmosphere. The hotel was quiet with no loud noises or disturbances during the night. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast with a large variety of cereals, fresh fruit, brown bread, croissants and juices. Coffee/tea and toast were brought to the table by very pleasant, smiling staff. The cooked breakfast buffet was hot, tasty and plentiful. When paying my bill Kathleen, the receptionist told me that there was no hurry in checking out and not to be in any rush leaving which I thought was a nice touch and a nice start to a leisurely Sunday. This is a wonderful hotel located in a wonderful place. We drove back to Galway via Ballyconneely and Roundstone stopping off at the coral strand which is just the most magical beach ever. Green water, golden beach made up completely from coral and strewn with shells. This is one of the most beautiful places in the world. Clifden is a 'must visit' town on your tour of Connemara.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard - to the front of the hotel - are away from the main road so are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel has two particularly outstanding features: firstly the wonderful Clifden itself and the hotel's location right in the hub of everything and within walking distance of everything else! Secondly the staff and service, carried out willingly and with a smile! The value of comfortable, clean rooms and good, plentiful food also can't be overlooked! Would highly recommend to anyone heading to that part of the country.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeymac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The hotel is situated in a good location just off the main route into Clifden - basically from outside the hotel you walk about two minutes and you are in the centre.

Hotel was very clean and staff friendly and welcoming. The food in the hotel was superb throughout our two night stay. I loved the indoor swimming pool/jacuzzi/sauna facilities especially when the weather turned bad - and it does on occasion in the West of Ireland!

Clifden is an excellent base for touring this lovely part of the world and there is a lot to see - the tourist office is right beside the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would use it again.

Stevo,
County Antrim, Northern Ireland - stayed on 6th and 7th September 2012.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean throughout the Hotel and have average views . The upper floors don't have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
308 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
14.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing